Username Post: Clear Stamps ?        (Topic#1584467)
kdsweet
New Kid On the Block
kdsweet

Hello! I've just started scrapbooking and I'm hooked! I'm so glad to finally do something fun with hundreds of pictures from when I studied abroad.

So far I've had good luck using rubber stamps (alphabet stamps) and I like those as my handwriting is pretty nice but not super. I'm a little perplexed by clear stamps though; what is the difference with them?? I'd like to get more stamps but want to make sure I know what I'm getting with those. (This may be an obvious thing.. guess my newby status will show then haha)

Thanks, appreciate your feedback! And this is such a great resource, I love it!

aquabunny
Idol
aquabunny
In response to kdsweet

The difference with clear stamps is that they mount to an acrylic block and you can see exactly where you're stamping, and they take up WAY less storage space! You tend to get a less crisp image with them, in my experience.

chocolateaxel
Diva
chocolateaxel
In response to kdsweet

What aquabunny said, except for the less crisp image part. I make tons of cards, and over the past couple of years have been using my clear stamps way more than my wood mounted stamps, and I get great images with both. I think more the type of stamp is the type of ink and the surface on which you stamp. I use a slightly resilient mat to stamp on instead of the hard table surface, I think the softer surface makes it easier to get good images from both types of stamps, but especially the clear stamps.

binkiemonstermom
Idol
binkiemonstermom
In response to chocolateaxel

There are also clear mounted stamps as well. They use the clear blocks but are rubber and have cushioning. (Stampin' Up, Hero arts, The Greeting Farm are some companies that have them). They still store in less space than wood mount.
If I like a stamp, I buy it. Except for wood...I no longer have the room for wood.

designguyKORY
Guru
designguyKORY
In response to chocolateaxel