Username Post: Mod Podge Aargh        (Topic#1587761)
chiller2000
New Kid On the Block
chiller2000

Hi, I'm a newbie to scrapping and crafts in general. Most of what I'm attempting to do right now is creating layouts but on hard surfaces (wood boxes, travertine tiles, etc) that require a base coat to adhere the images and a top coat for protection and durability.
Does anyone know a technique for applying a top coat of mod podge without having it dry with streaks? I've used bristle brushes, foam brushes, make up sponges and even my finger to apply and I always get dried streaks.
Or... does anyone have a better product for top coating?
Products Referenced in This Post:

Kim222
Kim222 
Mayor
Kim222
In response to chiller2000

For sealing a larger project, try Self-Leveling Clear Gel made by Golden.

If its a smaller project you're coating, Glossy Accents and Diamond Glaze are great, but sold in small bottles.

Hope that helps and welcome to the neighborhood

GemGirl
Expert
GemGirl

Poster above is correct; plus, depending on the humidity level in your location, Mod Podge might not ever completely dry to your satisfaction (it stays forever slightly tacky here), & some have encountered having it yellow after a number of years.

Golden brand products have served me well for many years (and, no, I have no connection to the company).

chiller2000
New Kid On the Block
chiller2000
In response to GemGirl

Thank you both so much for the information. I'll give Golden's a try. Goodness, it's rather expensive getting into scrapping and crafts. Guess I'll sell another grandkid.

srichter
Resident
srichter

The link to the mod podge product you've provided is also to the glossy brand. You might want to try the matte version and see if you experience the same problem. I've used it and I don't experience the tackiness that others have referred to, but I'm also in Nova Scotia, Canada so we don't struggle with the same weather that might cause a drying issue.

chiller2000