Username Post: Help! Confused about borders!        (Topic#1588931)
j.elf
j.elf 
Tenant
j.elf
  • j.elf on 06-22-13 02:03 PM

Hi there,

I am completely new to scrapbooking. I have purchased some 12 x 12 insert cards which have 3 punched holes down the left hand side - presumably for a 3 ring binder. When I design my layout, do I leave a margin for these holes - or do I go over the top of them and then pierce through them later on? Most pictures I see don't seem to have a margin or edge? And do I have to use a ring binder? Can these inserts be put into another type of binding?

Edited by j.elf on 06-22-13 02:08 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

mrsrogers52513
Pro
mrsrogers52513
In response to j.elf

The good thing about scrapbooking is that there are no rules! You can do it however you want!

bonprof
Idol
bonprof
In response to j.elf

I don't have the answer to your question, but wanted to WELCOME you to scrapbooking. It is a wonderful hobby and journey. Stay close to this website; it is very helpful and encouraging.

Veteran
In response to bonprof

Most of the layouts you are seeing posted are being done on straight cardstock or printed paper. All of my layouts then go into acid free protective sleeves which then go into a binder. Good luck in your new hobby and just remember it's supposed to be fun.

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to crzyboutscrpn

Hi and welcome!

The most widely available scrapbooking albums these days are either 12x12" or 8.5x11". These are 12x12" or 8.5x11" pages which are placed in plastic page protectors, and filed in either post-bound, strap hinge (SnapLoad) or D-ring binder albums.

The advantage of these is that you can put 2 LOs back-to-back into each page protector, and they can be changed around without taking the page protector out of the album. Obviously the plastic protects your work and your photos from greasy fingers.