Username Post: Magazine Addiction!        (Topic#1589027)
rhujack
New Kid On the Block
rhujack

Ok so I have a wee problem... or rather a very large expensive one! As you know I am very new to the scrapbooking circuit (only made one page so far) but I am addicted to buying the monthly magazines from the shops of they have 'freebees'! Now at £5 a magazine this is mounting up. Oh dear

meezerpleaser
Diva
meezerpleaser
In response to rhujack

I broke my scrapbook magazine addiction by doing a lot of surfing in the gallery here and on other scrappy sites, checking out you-tube, etc. Those mags have shrunken until there's practically nothing left but advertising... and for that money you spend on the mags, you could get lots of scrappy goodness!

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to rhujack

I did that at first too. But I discovered that the stamps are usually a bit rubbish (don't stamp well, are flimsy and tear easily), and the little "kits" contain stuff that I never use. I still have bits and pieces left over from the very first magazine kits I bought.

Also, once you've bought a year's worth of any magazine, the next year onwards is often similar ideas recycled.

But it's good to have that year's worth, and you'll probably find you get out of the addiction soon and replace it with Pinterest, or the Gallery here, or other recommended inspirations. I'm always adding to my "pot".

kiyawinn
Guru
kiyawinn
In response to RedSquirrel

I used to buy a lot....now, I just subscribe to one, Canadian Scrapbooker, and sometimes get the Cards magazine for free at the LSS....
I look forward to the day that the magazine comes and I get to sit down and go through it!

mrsrogers52513
Pro
mrsrogers52513
In response to kiyawinn

I used to buy a lot of sb magazines too, but found they just sat on the shelf and I'd spend time surfing the net and saving ideas on my computer.

fknapoleon
Pro
fknapoleon
In response to mrsrogers52513