Username Post: how to embellish?        (Topic#1589571)
mindygail
Expert
mindygail

I have been scrapping since 2000. I latley will put the pictures on my pretty patterned paper, then I get ... STUCK! what next??? I have stickers, chipboard letters, prima flowers but I dont feel like getting detailed with them. Does that make any sense at all???
I just quit. How do I manage to continue??
suggestions plz!!!

justowen
Governor
justowen
In response to mindygail

This is why I find the gallery here so helpful. I look through the gallery and find a layout that has a look that I really like, then I look at the details/elements of the lo and figure out how they did that.

Maybe just try one element. Start off very clean and simple with your lo. Use the chipboard letters to put the date or a name or a simple title. Or, just add a single flower to one corner of one pic.

A lo with "just" pics and lovely papers can be very lovely by itself and, if YOU like that look, then your page is done and beautiful!

bonprof
Idol
bonprof
In response to mindygail

I suggest you look here in the gallery for many, many fine examples of how to embellish, but of course, you need to find your own "style". In general, use odd numbers when laying down embellishments. The eye is drawn to 3 flowers of various sizes and textures or 5 or 9...depending on the effect you are shooting for. To embellish is to add to what story your pictures are already telling. If you like really fancy pages, you'll use more and if you like the clean and simple page, then just a few in the corner will do. What do you like? Try a few and see how you like it. But don't quit!! You can do it!

mindygail
Expert
mindygail
In response to bonprof

I like medium amount of embellies.
Thanks for the tips! I love the heavy embellies done on pages latley with lots of flowers and templates so unique!!!

Mama2Thomas
Pro
Mama2Thomas
In response to mindygail