Username Post: Info. on tablets.        (Topic#1590169)
lifethroughalens
Veteran
lifethroughalens

Hello everyone I am looking for some help/info. on tablets. I am completely clueless when it comes to tablets out there and trying to get as much knowledge as I can before making a decision. My laptop is on its last megabyte so I am trying to decide between updating my laptop or getting a tablet. For those of you that have one:
1. What kind do you have and do you find yourself using it more than your laptop?
2. Other than using it with a machine (I have a desktop I can hook mine up to) do you like your tablet more than your laptop?
3. How did you determine which one to get?
4. What do you not like about it?
5. If you were faced with the same decision what would you do?
I thought I would ask those in the scrapbooking world, as I am trying to make a list of pros and cons. Thank you so much in advance for any info. you can give me as I am brand new to this techy device.
Charlotte

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 08-17-13 10:18 AM
In response to lifethroughalens

Depends on what you want to do with it. I have not yet seen a tablet that is a real replacement for a laptop. Mostly they're very supplemental, and much more focused towards entertainment. They're not as powerful as a full-on computer. And if you want any storage space at all it can get really expensive.

I have an ipad (16G, Wi-fi) and I love it. My phone is an iphone so it's just easy for them to work together, and I have a big itunes library so the native support is essential. I use it for gaming, browsing the internet, email, watching Netflix, reading books (Kindle app) and editing photos (which is a ton of fun with all the cool apps out there). Random other things.

The only thing I don't like is that some web pages automatically detect you're on a tablet and load the mobile version - but that's the fault of the web page and not the ipad.