Username Post: Hi I'm new here with a silly question        (Topic#1590413)
New Kid On the Block

Hello My name is Meghan, and I'm new to scrap booking. I am going through the tutorials offered by this web site, and noticed that my supplies should be acid free. I was checking through my cardstock, and stickers etc, when I noticed some say they are acid free, while others do not. I am wondering if it is important that the tags and stickers state that they are acid free on the packaging. Thank you so much for your help!

mrsrogers52513
Pro
mrsrogers52513
In response to meghanl

Welcome!

I would say it's pretty important, but it's really a personal preference. I only buy things that are acid free.

Luvmyfam
Governor
Luvmyfam
In response to mrsrogers52513

Hi. Welcome

Some people use only acid-free, and others use whatever is on hand. I tend to land somewhere in the middle. Not everything in my scrapbook supply collection is acid-free. I am careful to use acid-free items with photos that cannot easily be replaced or duplicated. Otherwise, I don't worry about it too much.

However.....as Mrs. Rogers stated, it's a good thing to buy only acid-free. That's what I do, but sometimes I see shiny, pretty things at the dollar store and totally forget about the acid-free rule

Edited by Luvmyfam on 08-28-13 07:17 PM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

mrsrogers52513
Pro
mrsrogers52513
In response to Luvmyfam

I'm going to clarify my statement. I buy only acid-free things for my scrapbooks. For cards and other projects, I buy what I like. If it doesn't say if it is acid-free, I keep those things separate so I know not to use them in my scrapbooks. I, like Jen and many others, cannot refuse something sparkly, shiny, glittery, or pretty.

New Kid On the Block
In response to mrsrogers52513

This is great info! Thank you both so much for your responses I love the idea of storing the acid free supplies separate from the others!

ljstout
Tenant
ljstout
In response to meghanl