Username Post: Printed Digital Photos for scrapbooking?        (Topic#1590637)
rossbale77
New Kid On the Block
rossbale77

I am just going to start my first scrapbook project and the photos that I want to use are currently digital.

Do I need to look for any special printer paper or do I need to get them printed professionally in a special way to use them for scrapbooking?

Regards,

Ross

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to rossbale77

Hi Ross and welcome!

That's a tough one. I've read that modern home printing is both better and worse than store-printed photos for archival quality. I've been scrapping with both for 6 years and neither have degenerated yet, but I would not expect them to in that time. The technology for home printing is improving all the time.

If you are printing at home, the best advice I have is to use the best quality paper available that is intended for your specific home printer. For quality, I can confirm that HP paper used in an Epson printer produces shocking results, and Brother paper in an HP is average, but Brother paper in an Epson is fine. I can't vouch for the archival properties!

I have found that home printed photos fade quicker than store printed ones in the sunlight.

I'm sorry, I'm not being much help here!

mrsrogers52513
Pro
mrsrogers52513
In response to RedSquirrel

I print some pictures at home and print some at Archiver's, and I haven't had issues with either.

crichards1
Veteran
crichards1
In response to mrsrogers52513

I think it's less expensive to order from some place like Photobucket. If I have just a few to print, I print them from home using the highest quality Canon paper. If I have a lot of photos I order them.

Tenth
Tenth 
Tenant
Tenth
  • Tenth on 09-04-13 06:08 AM