Username Post: How do you keep your Versamark pad clean? Or do you? Is it even possible?        (Topic#1591061)
Tenant

Greetings, peeps!

So, my question for you: how .clean are your Versamark pads? I am relatively new to wet embossing, and my Versamark pad already looks like garbage. It's not that I don't make a concerted effort to keep it clean - I do - but my determination doesn't seem to make a lick of difference!

For the first time ever, I decided tonight that my chipboard needed a second coat of embossing powder. So I tried to cover the first (completed) layer with Versamark, and discovered that while the chipboard was pretty dry to the touch, it wasn't dry when I pounced the Versamark on it. I ended up with a Versamark pad with red glittery embossing powder, and some silver, too, from an earlier project. It was so bad I didn't know what else to do but rinse/ scrub it under running water! It's nowhere near clean, but it is better, and I "re-inked" it afterwards.

So my question: is this just to be expected? Do I need to accept that my Versamark will never be clean, and that my gold ink pad will forever scatter random gold glitter on my projects?! See, I'm one of those people who has a clean kitchen before I sit down to eat, because I clean as I go. I'm having a difficult time embracing the messier aspects of papercrafting!

Is what I am experiencing normal, or am I doing something really wrong? I mean, good heavens, I'm looking around my craft room and see red glittery embossing powder everywhere! Never mind the 2 Swiffer dusters I've been using, and the 8 or so baby wipes in the wastebasket!

Words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. How long do you generally wait before you add a second coat of embossing powder?
Products Referenced in This Post:

stick
stick 
Mayor
stick
  • stick on 09-23-13 08:26 AM
In response to ChelleKristine