Page 1 of 3 
Username Post: Sharing hobbies.....is it ever a good idea?        (Topic#1591299)
olleharr
Mayor
olleharr

I've been scrapbooking for about 10 years now and my husband has been flying airplanes for about 8 years. Up until now we've been supportive to each other but kept our hobbies to ourselves. The last few months he's been pressuring me to fly with him (just the thought makes me break out in a sweat!) We joke around about it a lot but I know he's really serious. And I'm REALLY scared. Recently I told him "OK....since you want me to share your hobby then I want you to share mine. I'll spend an afternoon in your airplane if you'll spend an afternoon in my scraproom scrapbooking with me." Of course I thought he'd run screaming at the thought of being cooped up in that little room with nothing but paper, scissors and glue. To my surprise.....and dismay he agreed to the deal. Boy, I really stuck my foot in my mouth there. Just wondering what hobbies do you all share with your spouses? Does your husband scrapbook with you? I've been married 25 years and the only "hobby" we've ever shared is kids, LOL!

Henri Jean
Queen
Henri Jean
In response to olleharr

Bill and I enjoy travel as a hobby and we love to snorkel together although we rarely do that anymore. He bought me tanks and I plan to learn to scuba dive but I don't know when.

I do not want Bill to scrapbook with me. Our taste is completely different, he is not neat and particular and he looks at layouts I do and if there is a 2 x 2 empty box somewhere he suggests I get another picture and put it there so I don't waste space. Plus he does not take care of things and looses everything. I know where everything is. With him scrapping with me I'd never find things again.