Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: Cricut Explore vs. Expressions with SCAL vs. Siloutte        (Topic#1593669)
crazyaboutscrapping
Expert
crazyaboutscrapping

I am interested in buying a new machine to have more freedom with images. I would love to cut SVG files. The new explore only lets you do this with a monthly subscription fee. Any thoughts on these three options? I meant the SCAL 3 with the eclips. Sorry, i know SCAL 3 wont work with the Cricut.

Edited by crazyaboutscrapping on 01-22-14 02:01 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

Vivian Lake
Guru
Vivian Lake
In response to crazyaboutscrapping

silhouette cameo is what I recently bought and have not regretted it. I use it with both SCAL 3 and the free software studio it comes with.

you have the option of buying a monthly subscription to the Silhouette store or just paying for what you want.

OR just going to all the svg sites and get what you want (what I've been doing for a couple years now).

crazyaboutscrapping
Expert
crazyaboutscrapping
In response to Vivian Lake

anyone know if the silhouette cuts chipboard?

ddcmsmom
Veteran
ddcmsmom
In response to crazyaboutscrapping

Yes, the Silhouette Cameo does cut chipboard, probably thin chipboard, but I think that's true with most of the machines. Check the Silhouette America website - they have some chipboard how to's.

I have the old Silhouette SD - I love it! Originally, I wanted to use SVGs, but in the end, I've used mostly cutting files from Silhouette. They're inexpensive, and it's just easier.

Edited by ddcmsmom on 01-22-14 04:36 AM. Reason for edit: No reason given.

HisGEM
HisGEM 
Diva
HisGEM
In response to ddcmsmom