Username Post: What is the best professional standard DSLR on the market?        (Topic#1594183)
Resident

Hi, my point and shoot just broke, and I figured I'd take the time to sell off some of my old film cameras and get a DSLR that is as close to a professional as I can get for my money. So I'm wondering what DSLR takes professional level photos, and what is an older model that has 10 megapixels or more that I could get on ebay? If you have examples of what your professional DSLR does, I'd love to see it to be able to compare options. Thanks so much!

aubrieannie
Veteran
aubrieannie
In response to preraphaelitess

I am a serious hobby photographer so I shoot a LOT. What price range are you looking at? I'm guessing "professional" isn't what you want. If it is, you will spend upwards of $2K for the BODY without a lens. I would guess you are looking for an entry level consumer DSLR. I shoot with Nikon. I started with the D40 (which you can get for a steal used these days because Nikon has since upgraded it a bit). The D40 is a FANTASTIC camera. I shot with it for about five years and still sometimes do shoot with it. I only upgraded when I could tell you what the limitations of the camera were because I noticed them when shooting. But it took me 5 years to notice.

I'd suggest getting an entry level, which is the D40 (or whatever it is now) for Nikon or a Rebel if you are a Canon shooter. A great source for comparisons of canon and Nikon and different cameras is Kenrockwell.com. He has photo examples and everything. I did a LOT of research before buying my D40, and that website was VERY helpful.

Resident
In response to aubrieannie

Hi Aubs,