Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: cricut or something else        (Topic#1594829)
Tenant

this is probably somewhere else as well but i'm new to this.

come tax return time i'm thinking of investing in a die cut machine.
but i don't know much and i dislike buying without information. the first place i go for info is th people
so....
recommendations?
suggestions?
please.

RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel
In response to stormwolfe

Nutshell time - this is very, very simplified!

There are two different kinds of die-cutting machines: hand-cranked and electronic.

Hand-cranked need no electricity and are portable, but you need to buy dies, and they also emboss, eg. Cuttlebug by Provocraft, Big Shot by Sizzix, Grand Calibur by Spellbinders. I'll link more below. These are around the £80-£100 mark.

Then there are electronic cutters: eg. several of different Cricut machines by Provocraft, Cameo and Portrait by Silhouette. The Cricuts need cartridges that you buy separately and you can only cut those shapes on the cart. The Silhouettes need a computer. You either buy shapes from the site to download and cut, or you create your own if you have the computer know-how. These will cut whatever size you tell them to. Some emboss too. You can pay several hundred for them.

Personally I began with the Cuttlebug (LOVE my bug, still, after 6 years) and then got a Silhouette because I'm computer-savvy and wanted to design my own shapes. I use the bug on practically every project.

So you need to decide whether you need electricity or not, how much you want to spend now and going forward, and how experienced you are with a computer.

Does that help?

scrapchica
Guru
scrapchica
In response to RedSquirrel