Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: How do I get started        (Topic#1594891)
chinagirl
Tenant
chinagirl

I am new to scrapping and when I see the beautiful layouts on here and on pinterest I get so intimidated. I have no idea where to start or how to start. My husband bought me a big shot and I was so thirlled then I realized I have no idea what to do with it...LOL Last year I bought the Blossoms and Butterflies pack to scrap my daughters firt year, I did a layout last night and it looked "okay" just not what I wanted it to look like. I am just at a loss. Does anyone have any advice?

dwelch
dwelch 
Diva
dwelch
In response to chinagirl

Just don't be intimated by what you see here. Remember that every one of these great creative ladies started with a first layout. For starters, you might want to pick up a set of alphabet dies for your Big Shot so you can cut your own letters in whatever color you want. There are a lot of alphabet styles available out there by Sizzix. Look through the gallery here for ideas and check out the videos both here and on YouTube for ideas with your Big Shot. Welcome to the group - it's addicting!

chinagirl
Tenant
chinagirl
In response to dwelch

Thank you Dwelch

bonprof
Diva
bonprof
In response to chinagirl

Everything takes time. Be patient with yourself and have fun in the proces. You are right where you are supposed to be.

andrea m
Diva
andrea m
In response to bonprof

I suggest sketches. When I started paper placement and ideas were a big challenge. There are sketches on this site, pinterest and all over. They are great for giving you a building block to start with.

chinagirl
Tenant
chinagirl
In response to bonprof

Thank you. The 12x12 pages are a little intimidating to me because I feel as though I need to fill up the whole page. Thank you for the words of wisdom to be patient.

chinagirl
Tenant
chinagirl
In response to chinagirl