Page 1 of 2 
Username Post: How did you get into scrapping?        (Topic#1596865)
idlewoman
Veteran
idlewoman

My daughter had been scrapping for a few years and kept trying to talk me into scrapping with her. I kept saying I wasn't creative and couldn't do it. One summer she convinced me to go with her to a scrap retreat for 3 days. We had just taken a trip to NYC that December so I decided to scrap that. I bought an album and printed my pictures. She said I could use her supplies. She bought me a xyron and a package of punch out letters. As a teacher, I automatically did research on 'how' I should scrap. I printed out some pagemaps, read directions, and went to the retreat. I got the first two pieces of cardstock out, got out a couple of pictures, looked at them, and said, "Just what I thought, I have no idea what to do!" I did jump in though and with the help of my daughter and other ladies at the crop I got all of my pages done for my album. I must say I am still pretty pleased with those pages. And so began a hobby, passion, and joy called scrapbooking for me.

How about you?

olleharr
Mayor
olleharr
In response to idlewoman

That's a great story! I started scrapping about 10 years ago after my father passed away. I inherited all his old photos so I wanted to do something special with them. It intrigued me to look at photos of him when he was a boy. I had regrets for not asking him what he remembered about those photos but as I started scrapbooking them my mind began making up it's own stories. It became a wonderful form of therapy for me and spending time with his photos really helped me through a difficult time and made me feel closer to my dad. After that I decided that I wanted to do the same thing for my daughters childhood photos. And here I am today....10 years later, still scrapping!

scrappercaz
Governor
scrappercaz
In response to olleharr

Creative Memories - something tells me I'm not alone A friend was a rep and invited me to a house party.