Page 1 of 3 
Username Post: Children at a crop?        (Topic#1597359)
RedSquirrel
Diva
RedSquirrel

Do you think it's acceptable to bring kids to a crop?

Let me clarify. It's a monthly Saturday crop at a hall, and it's been run for 10 years. I'm a relative newbie at only 2 years' membership. One of the other ladies has an 8-yo DD who she is bringing along more and more. She's a lovely child; quiet, cheerful, generous and sharing, well-behaved and really into crafting. She always makes things, and thoroughly enjoys getting into a delicious mess. And she has accidents with paint and spilled drinks, like any child that age.

Everyone there loves kids, and nobody minds sharing the child-minding while her mother scraps. We all understand that it's hard for single parents to get child-care. I've said nothing, and have no intention of saying anything, but I think I'm the only one who doesn't want kids to be around while I've got a lot of expensive kit spread about. I don't want tea spilled all over my bags, and I don't like opening the toilet door and getting wet paint on me, and and then finding a purple flood on the floor. I don't like feeling that I ought to bring my own cleaning equipment to mop up messes (because the hall doesn't supply it).

I sound like a proper Grinch, don't I? OK, end of vent...

Doreena
Governor
Doreena
In response to RedSquirrel

Nope...you're not a Grinch.
I wouldn't want a child around me when I am scrapping either! Even my own! LOL!
Besides the danger of her messing up your stuff, I see a crop as a way to get away from everything, including children, and a time to really relish in the creating; really enjoying the hobby! And as a parent, I'm surprised the parent of the child doesn't realize this! I mean I love my kids, most of the time (kidding, kidding) but I'm not in denial when it comes to the fact that not everyone wants my kids around, especially in an environment like that!