Login

Need an account?
Already have an account?
Login Name:
Password:
Stay logged in
forgot password

Shopping

share

KatieJo's Reviews

  • Review: Echo Park - Hello, Spring Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Butterfly

    I recommend this product

    Pretty Butterfly Paper (22 June 2012)

    I thought this was a very sweet sort of paper. I liked seeing all these different sized and colored butterflies put together on this interesting pp. Each of them (no matter what size) has a lighter monochromatic butterfly shape printed inside of them that kind of reminds me of an embossed image (although there is no actual 3-D texture to the page). The background featured creamy yellow swirls and little black dots that kind of look like pepper scattered across the paper. All in all it creates a very nice pattern. It is nice solid weighted paper.



  • Review: Graphic 45 - Olde Curiosity Shoppe Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - When Pigs Fly

    I recommend this product

    This paper is an Absolute HOOT! (22 June 2012)

    I saw this paper and had to have a piece because it is so Cute! Of course I think all the angled, smiling pigs on this are just adorable. And the detailing on them is very nicely done. I think it is even more impressive in real life than the image I'm seeing on my computer at least. The background is a little bit brighter blue and the pigs pop out as more pink against it. I had to think a bit about what I might use this for... but maybe it will be a LO about things I want to do but am not sure I will ever get to do.... would be better still if I get to say I accomplished one or two of them anyway. The paper is a nice, heavy weight.



  • Review: Paper House Productions - Cat Collection - 12 x 12 Paper - Chalk Paw Prints

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Cute Naughty Cat Sheet (22 June 2012)

    This is a sort of a photographic image of a chalkboard and frame. To me the framing stuck out a lot more than I was expecting. I guess I was expecting the footprints to be the dominant focus of the paper. They are little bit more blurry and faded. Also, as pictured, there is indeed a black border all the way around the paper. I think I might cut this off and remount it to another sheet to add some dimension when I scrap with it. Also, it is a not very thick and sturdy.



  • Review: Kaisercraft - Cock-a-doodle-doo Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Meow

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Cute sheet (22 June 2012)

    I saw some of the LO's done with this paper and decided I had to have some. It has a rally cute tree design on the front (of course) that features little round treetops that have kind of an appliqued fabric sort of feel. If you really you look really closely you can even see the printed stitching around the edges of each one. On the back is a nice dark walnut colored wood grain/plank pattern. On the bottom of this side is a border strip with red and green tulips printed across it. Although it is there to point out the identifying border piece for the other side, I think it would make a nice little border piece for projects. It is not super thick but has a bit of weight to it.



  • Review: Martha Stewart Crafts - Bone Folder

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice quality piece (22 June 2012)

    I haven't used this a lot yet but love the feel of it. It is nice and solid and rests well in my hand. I did try it out with the MS scoring board (which comes with a much flimsier version) and really appreciate how nicely this one works. Also, it does fit nicely into the compartment in the top of that tool.



  • Review: Queen and Company - Trendy Tape - Polka Dot Black

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Neat Tape (22 June 2012)

    Although I haven't had a chance to use this on a project yet, I'm really liking the look of it. It arrived with a sample piece stuck to the outside of the package and I played around with that a little. I don't have any other decorative tapes and so can't compare them. This one does have some nice quality. It seems like a neat kind of cross between painter's tape and masking tape... being more papery. It is not very transparent. It comes unstuck again well... at least from the packaging piece. I did a little experiment with applying some distress ink coloring to it just to see if I could create some additional variation when I do go to use it. It did pick up some of the color eventually but the ink of course is very wet and didn't sink in quickly... so I chose to wipe most of it off rather than make a big mess. Still, I think it will be lots of fun and looks like a versatile style for a beginner with this tape thing.



  • Review: SugarTree - 12 x 12 Paper - Wild Buffalo

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Buffalo Sheet (13 June 2012)

    This has a very nice print and looks much as it appears online. It is a bit thin if that is a concern.



  • Review: Echo Park - Metropolitan Dots and Stripes Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Teal Large Dot

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    What you see is what you get (13 June 2012)

    This is a nice teal/aqua, dotted/striped paper. It does have a very subtle distressing in the teal coloring as well.



  • Review: My Little Shoebox - Up In The Trees Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - In The Trees

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    A cute, whimsical design (13 June 2012)

    I thought this was such a cute sheet of paper. The moment I saw it I had the idea of cutting the branches out and creating a 3-D effect with the hanging hearts and only later noticed that one of the projects associated with this paper already featured that idea. I do think the colors are fairly close except that the red hearts are tad duller in real life, but they can be altered easily if that is needed.



  • Review: American Crafts - Studio Calico - Memoir Collection - 12 x 12 Die Cut Paper - Intertwined Circle - Teal

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice diecut page, but darker than expected (13 June 2012)

    I like the diecut pattern of this sheet paper, but was a little surprised to find that it was so dark. It is what I would describe as a DARK teal with a tiny cream graph pattern printed on it. I realize that every computer monitor picks up colors differently, but this color is much different than other paper pieces I received in the same color range in the same order. As long as the buyer is aware.... That being said, I still like the design and will find a good use for it I'm sure.



  • Review: Simple Stories - Documented Collection - 12 x 12 Collection Kit

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Collection Not a Bargain (13 June 2012)

    I love this paper collection and was very excited to finally get in the mail today. I had lots of difficulty however trying to figure out how many sheets were included in this set since the description on the package doesn't really say it clearly. Instead, it starts out counting full sheets and then reverts to counting elements on the pages, which isn't helpful at all. There are in fact 12 sheets of cardstock paper included. Four of those are double sided 12 x 12 sheets while the rest are also double sided but are designed to potentially be cut into the various sizes. Also included are the alphabet stickers, the element stickers and the transparencies. And although the transparencies are described as a "bonus" item, they are in fact something that costs extra when compared to individual sheets prices of this collection. If you really love transparencies (unfortunately, I don't) this package is the only way you can acquire this matching set if you do want them and might make the collection worth something to you.
    As for me, I still really love this whole collection and am happy with the pieces I have and do look forward to using them. However, if I'd known what I do now, I would have just bought them individually instead of in the package since I would gotten value for my money by not selecting some pieces and ordering duplicates of others. (I both love and hate those double pages sometimes).



  • Review: EK Success - Paper Shapers - Heavy Duty Punch - 1/8 Inch Circle

    I don't recommend this product

    Not what I was hoping for (07 January 2012)

    I saw some good reviews of this item and thought it might be a nice alternative to a larger punching system for heavy duty purposes. Space, for me, is at a premium. However, no sooner did I get it out of the packaging than I noticed a huge weakness that actually makes me regret getting it. It punches less than 1/2 inch away from the edge. Plus, one of the first times I used it on something more challenging than mere paper, I managed to whack my pinky finger with the handle when I released it from the lock. (No doubt my extreme clutziness was more to blame for that than the product itself.) On the positive side, it is compact, solidly constructed and does punch smoothly through chipboard at least.



  • Review: Creative Imaginations - Star Wars Collection - 8 x 8 Pre-Designed Album

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great Fun with Star Wars (19 November 2011)

    My DH and I actually used this to create a fun baby book... sort of. I did like all the the preplanned and designed pages because it did mean that extra embellishments weren't very necessary. The pages however, were very thin and needed backing. Overall a great album and the recipient was so happy with it, he wouldn't let it out of his sight afterwards.



  • Review: Fiskars - Border Punch - Leave It To Weaver

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I've wanted this punch for years (09 January 2011)

    I finally got this for Christmas after years of wanting it. Of course I think it will be great to use as a ribbon or paper strip threading mechanism, but it is also a great stand alone sort of border punch. This is one that could work very well in a masculine sort of LO or card. I have yet to use it on anything, but did break it out of its package to test how well it punches. As usual with my Fiskars border punches, it lines up nicely with the grid and punches smoothly. I like the negative pieces as well and think that they could make very cute confetti bits cupcake designs or for when you want to add just a bit of celebration to card you are sending. :)



  • Review: Fiskars - Border Punch - Effervescence

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Good punch (09 January 2011)

    I purchased this punch with the thought that it was another one that is fairly basic and could be used on a lot of LO's and cards. I saw immediately that since it has two layers of punching, you create different looks by simply concealing the dot layer (either with a ribbon or paper strip or with a whole larger sheet of paper). Further you could use the dots for Stickles placement or brads or even for threading. It punches cleanly and easily and is fairly easy to line up with the grid.



  • Review: EK Success - Paper Shapers - Edger Punch - Binding Edge

    I recommend this product

    Nice notebook style edge (09 January 2011)

    I have seen the notebook/binding edging punches used here several times and finally broke down and purchased one. Although this is my first EK Success border punch (all others being Fiskars) I decided on this version because I liked the shape produced the best. I think it will work nicely for LO's with lists and as a more masculine sort of punch style. I think the negative that this punch produces is interesting also... although it only has five tabs. I am certain that something neat could be done with those. It lines up nicely and punches smoothly. I do find though that the silver on grey guides can be just a bit harder to see at times... in my poor lighting...than the white I am used to. Still, the slimline design is a very nice option that makes storage in a drawer (my choice for it) just that much easier.



  • Review: Fiskars - Border Punch - Apron Lace

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice versatile design (09 January 2011)

    I was excited about this punch because it looked very useful for a variety of LO's and cards and such. I like the half circle punch out in each scallop shape and think that this could be used nicely with colors showing through them. I have also used it to create a paper "ribbon" strip that has the scallops punched along each edge. I have no problems lining this one up with the front grid, and it punches through very nicely.



  • Review: Fiskars - Border Punch - Sunburst

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice Lacey Sort of Design (09 January 2011)

    This is the first border punch I purchased - even before they became so popular. I like the design very much for creating girlie sort of projects. Almost has a lacey look. I has a nice display for lining up your next punch and punches easily. I do find a little more challenging than some to line up perfectly because of the detail in the design but it will still normally end with a nice enough line of punching. It could very well be operator error that causes the punches to be off just a bit.



  • Review: Scotch ATG - Adhesive Applicator Gun - Pink - Uses One Fourth Inch Adhesive

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Good product but not perfect (09 January 2011)

    I'm one of those people who doesn't get all the excitement about this product. Either it is the learning curve thing or I am just not able to make mine work quite right. It did take forever to get the thing to open and let me put in a roll. I thought I was going to break it. When I finally did, I guess I didn't get it put in right the first time because it popped out and the roll exploded all over inside the gadget eventually. Thankfully, I was able to rethread the roll and not waste too much adhesive. I also find that I have some problems with the adhesive stretching (instead of sticking to the project) and balling up so that I have to remove it and get my fingers all gummy. It can be very frustrating because it happens fairly often. I do have to give it credit for being a very reasonably priced adhesive - since the roll does last forever and also can give it even more credit for the adhesive being very good at holding. If you put something it place, you'd better really want it there.



  • Review: Art Bin - Super Satchel - Box - One Compartment with Tab Dividers

    I recommend this product

    We think they are great. We have 24. (31 July 2010)

    I decided to purchase a bookcase as the main piece of storage furniture in my scraproom. I made sure that it was a large one that would accomadate 12 x 12 products such as my paper and albums.

    I then had to come up with a good way to store templates, pages and page protectors, photo papers, photo storage sleeves, various products for my current and future projects and so on since such things don't just easily sit upright on the shelves. Since they are clear they don't even have to be labeled.

    I found these and bought four. I was very impressed. Compared to similar products, these are much more sturdy, the clasps are more secure and they have the useful handle. Plus, they are fairly deep at about 3". I addition, they have large, flat plastic dividers pieces that can help organize papers and the like more easily. I decided very quickly that I needed four more... for a total of eight (since they fit perfectly on one shelf).

    So, I took a couple of them along with me to a family crop with my DMIL and DSIL. One held my current project and the other included paper that I thought might be useful to me or one of the others. The handles made them especially easy to transport.

    Shortly after, both of my family members decided that they too needed to own 8 each for their own spaces. So, we obviously think they are great and now have a total of 24 between the three of us.



  • Review: EK Success - Paper Shapers - Nesting Punch - Scallop Circle 2"

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nicely operating punch (17 July 2010)

    As soon as I got this, I broke it out of the package and tested it on some junk mail typing weight paper. It worked beautifully. I next tried it on some cardstock weight papers and again had great results. The circle is indeed the 2" described at the largest point but the casing of the punch is considerably larger than I was expecting. Finding proper storage for this will be a concern. I intend to use it for making gifts tags for one thing but am sure it will have many other uses for cards and scrapbooking.



  • Review: K and Company - Blue Awning Collection - 12x12 Paper - Blue Damask

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice design to a background sheet (17 July 2010)

    This has a nice greyish tan coloring to the somewhat subtle flourishes and a what I would call a cadet blue (a little greyer than what my computer is showing me) coloring to the paper. I think it will serve well as an interesting background paper to a LO's. I can easily see photos coordinating with the coloring.



  • Review: EK Success - Jolee's Boutique Title Wave Stickers - I Do Wedding Collection - The Wedding Party, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Perfect for a wedding with Blue and Purple Coloring (17 July 2010)

    I purchased this to use for a wedding page with purple and blue colors. Of course, this will make a great title for my wedding party page. The swirls have a little (but not too much) dimension and the letters and blues have a nice glittery sparkle.



  • Review: K and Company - Blue Awning Collection - 12x12 Paper - Blue Polka Dots

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Bit darker than appears (17 July 2010)

    This paper is a bit darker than I was expecting based on my computer image of it. It appears very dark navy or almost black. It still matches the other Blue Awning pieces quite well and will work OK as a background page. It just doesn't have the pop of blue coloring I was hoping for.



  • Review: K and Company - Blue Awning Collection - 12x12 Specialty Paper Pad

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Beautiful Collection (17 July 2010)

    I finally decided I just had to have these papers before they went out of stock. The blues, greens, tans of them are some of my favorite scrapping colors and the papers are just gorgeous. Some have embossed texture, some have foil and some have glitter to make them that much more eye catching. I don't know why I put off purchasing this packet for so long except that maybe I know that it will be very hard to actually use such pretty pages for my LO's.



  • Review: American Crafts - Glitter Brads - Copper - Medium, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Glittery Brown Brads (11 July 2010)

    I bought these hoping I would finally be getting the brown glitter brads I've been searching for. I was not disappointed. They look as my computer pictured them... kind of a brown/bronze color as opposed to the traditional copper color I would have associated with their color name. The glitter does seem to be firmly adhered to the brad (all over) and the prongs seem to open up well. Also, they have the nice "medium" size in that the tops measure about 5/16". I am very pleased with them and can hardly wait to start using them on my projects.



  • Review: Queen and Company - Brads - Classy Red, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Just a bit Pink (11 July 2010)

    These are a nice tiny little brad to add just that little shot of red color to your page. They measure about 3/16" of inch on the top. They also appear to be ready to use... no painted bottoms to hinder that. The only issue I have was that I was really hoping that I had found a true red. These appear to be a bit of a berry or maroon coloring to them.



  • Review: BasicGrey - Rub-On Roller Tool

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Don't know how I went without for so long (11 July 2010)

    I haven't used this on any projects yet but did test it on some of my most stubborn rub ons. It worked great! They actually stuck! I am so impressed. I don't know how or why I went without for as long as I did.



  • Review: The Crafter's Workshop - 12 x 12 Doodling Templates - Orchid

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Interesting shape but crooked! (27 June 2010)

    I bought this template with the idea of using it for its outside shape. I've done this with a few of my LO's and like the results. I still look forward to coming up with ideas that will utilize the rest of the design.

    I've used this a little and thought that all this time I was not holding it still when I copied the outside design onto paper, but I finally took the time to really look at it and realized that the points and curves on it don't line up correctly. They are different sized and crooked in some cases. I think the other markings are still nicely designed and arranged but since I bought it for the outside shape, I am disappointed.



  • Review: The Crafter's Workshop - 12 x 12 Doodling Templates - Circles n' Circles

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great circle cutting aid (27 June 2010)

    I bought this knowing that I wanted something to aid in making large circle shapes. This works pretty well for my purpose. I like the guides in the center that allow for pencil marking to keep the template in place for use. I am a little disapppointed in the somewhat flimsy material the piece is made from. Thankfully it doesn't create huge difficulties in use. I just have to be a bit more careful about storage so I don't bend it.



  • Review: Scenic Route Paper - Sonoma Collection - Clear Acrylic Stamps - Days of the Week, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Day of the week Stamps (27 June 2010)

    These are pretty small... not unexpected for the price, but it does make them a little harder to work with. They stamp without undue prep though.



  • Review: American Crafts - Photo Marker - Black

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    As good as I've found (15 November 2009)

    This marker is great for writing identifying info on the back of a photo. It lasts for quite a few photos and more importantly it dries very quickly. So, you can put your info on the back and stack the photos as you go without worry that you'll end up with any black marker smear on any photos.



  • Review: Umbrella Crafts - 3 Ring Memory Albums - 12 x 12 - Nautical Navy

    I recommend this product

    Nicely made 3 Ring Binder (01 November 2009)

    I have one of these that I purchased awhile back and have only recently started using. It is nicely made. The cover material seems very durable. It even includes metal corners to keep those looking nice through the years.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Black Diamond

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Beautiful Shimmer to this product (02 May 2009)

    I finally had the opportunity to use this product and have to say that I am really impressed with the coloring of it. It has lots of irridescent shimmer to it. It really spiced up my Wheels layout nicely, and I think it will add great finish to my up and coming Las Vegas album layouts. I'm very happy with this product



  • Review: Xyron 510 Refill Permanent Cartridge

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Xyron adhesive is a great product (22 April 2009)

    Xyron adhesive works so well for adhering things with irregular edges especially. This one is a good size for slightly bigger cut pieces. I don't know what I would do without it.



  • Review: Making Memories - 12x12 Paper Trimmer

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Straight Cuts (22 April 2009)

    My favorite thing about this trimmer is that the blade is self sharpening. I don't need to worry about having replacement blades handy. Also the included magnetic ruler helps keep the paper in place very nicely so that it is easy to ensure a straight cut. My one issue is that cutting strips from thin scraps is not very easily done. There is a guard in the way that prevents this.



  • Review: Deja Views - Zero Centering Ruler - 12 inch

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great tool not much money (14 February 2009)

    I just bought this the other day and put it to use immediately on my LO. I decided that I either wanted doodled stitching or rub ons for it. This guide cost almost the same amount as the rub on package cost, and I figured I would be able to use it lots more times. It will be great for centering of course, but my favorite feature is the ability to use it as for measured distance placement - for stitches or piercings or brads etc. I'm also thinking I might use it to draw lines for borders and journaling also. All in all it looks like it is going to come in handy a lot. So, lots of bang for the buck and easy to store and take along too.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - Bulk Cardstock Pack - 25 Sheets - 8.5x11 - Fussy

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Lots of pink for my project (31 January 2009)

    I needed some pink for a project I have in mind. Mostly I intend to use it as mats for photos and accent pieces. When I saw Bazzill Basics had a stack in the right color (sort of a light to medium range) I figured that I couldn't very well beat that. This of course has the thick, textured appearance that Bazzill does so well. This particular version has irregular lines (instead of cross hatching - as some others do) going vertically down the page. It will work really well for what I have in mind - of course.



  • Review: Bo Bunny Press - Pep Rally Collection - 12x12 Paper - Pep Rally Ruled Paper

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice aged quality (31 January 2009)

    This has a nice sort of distressed look IRL that you can only faintly see here. It kind of looks like a tea stained fabric rested on the paper briefly and left its image. I like with browns and other earthy colors and think that this paper will be put to good use on the project I have intended for it.



  • Review: American Crafts - Remarks - Alphabet Stickers Book - LAX - Neutral 1

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the font (31 January 2009)

    I really like this font and thought that these would make a nice addition to my alphabet collection. I liked the basic black and white coloring because I thought they'd be pretty versatile. So, strangely enough the first time I got them out to use them, I decided I indeed didn't want a white or black alphabet. No problem, I inked the white alphabet and happily came up with the perfect font and the perfect color. They are a little on the thin side and picking them up and placing them is a little delicate although I did manage to move one letter several times and still keep it intact.



  • Review: Medium Nesting Punches - Circle - 1 1-8"

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I've been looking everywhere for this size (28 January 2009)

    This is the perfect sized circle punch for me. I don't even know why. It is a bit hard to find this size however. I was very happy to find it here. I already have a 1.5" and maybe will someday get the 1" size. What I was most happy to discover about this one is that it is a thumb lever type. Those work so much easier than the other versions. Another very nice feature of this particular brand is that the size is actually printed on the circle image on top of the punch. So, just looking at the punch, you can quickly see that it is a circle and it is such and such a size. I think that could be very helpful when searching through your various punches. I can hardly wait to put this to use.



  • Review: Making Memories - Crystal Brad Value Pack - Circle Clear

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    A nice way to add a little bling to your brad (28 January 2009)

    I thought these brads would be a nice little touch of bling for my flower centers or just as accents on a page. They are pretty basic in construction. They are pretty much just as they look... three different sizes of brads with a plastic rhinestone center and a metal ring around that. I like the basic clear coloring because I think they'll be pretty versatile.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Walnut Stain

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Go to distressing color (28 January 2009)

    I have a couple of Tim Holtz brand distress inks now. I had a lighter brown and decided I "needed" this one. It is a dark, dark brown. It looks so go for edging and other paper inking techniques. I am very happy to have gotten it. I use it quite a bit. I did try aging with my other ink pads and it just seemed so much more difficult with them than the Tim Holtz style pads make it. I think this would be my suggestion for one of the first few colors to put into your arsenal for the inked and distressed look... if you had to limit yourself to just a few.



  • Review: Sizzix - System Converter - Works with Original Sizzix Machine

    I recommend this product

    Super Easy to Use (03 January 2009)

    I purchased this when I got my original big red machine. It allowed me to use Sizzix embossing templates... and also would theoretically allow me to someday use Sizzlits and dies from other manufacturers. I've done neither of those however. It is a little heavy - as has already been indicated - but I think it helps add to the pressure for even better die cutting once it is placed. And all one has to do to place it is just turn it correct side up and slide it until it is underneath metal plate on the Sizzix machine. The stong magnet in the converter will snap it right up into place. It won't come loose until you want it to.



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Clear Stamps - Kabloom - Flowers, CLEARANCE

    I recommend this product

    The usual Technique Tuesday quality product (03 January 2009)

    I purchased these a while back thinking that I'd get a nice, versatile product with good quality. The quality is of course just what one expects from TT. They don't require prepping, and they make a nice, clear image. But I have to confess (although the size was acknowledged), they are a little smaller than what I find really useful. Most of the flowers are around a 1/2 inch size. I have managed to use a one or two of the flowers as little accents, but have yet to find the project that I can really use them on. Someday, I think they would make nice borders or group designs.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Precious Metals Collection - Rub Ons - Coppered Out Flowers, CLEARANCE

    I recommend this product

    These are beautiful coppery color (28 December 2008)

    I really think the coloring and design of these are gorgeous.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Precious Metals Collection - Rub Ons - Coppered Out Swirls, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    The coppery color is gorgeous (28 December 2008)

    I love the color of these. Of course the designs of these are really pretty too. I just used them and had a bit of difficulty getting the image to go on smoothly. It kept buckling and breaking. I did eventually get the image to come out complete though so its still a better result than I've had with some other rub-ons.



  • Review: Petaloo - Flora Doodles - Handmade Paper Flowers - Mini Delphinium

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Very pretty and bright flowers (28 December 2008)

    I just received these for Christmas, and I have decided that the colors are even prettier than they are appearing on my computer screeen. The greens are more an olive green (less pea/neon colored) and the reds are more of a berry/maroon color. The oranges and browns appear pretty true to the color I am seeing. They come with several little flowers and some big ones with the smaller flowers already attached to them. If the little flower center was not wanted or needed, they could just be flipped and applied that way. They have the usual paper flower texture and are not bulky at all.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Icicle

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Changed my mind... decided I love the color (28 December 2008)

    Admittedly, I am not as addicted to Stickles as many people out there are. I only find needing a few of the colors. I bought Icicle with the hope that I would have a nice basic white color to add to my collection. At the time, of course, the Stickle experts weren't around to answer such color questions. Unfortunately, this one seems to be translucent and filled with green and pink sparkles. As a result it only suits certain LO's... it clashes badly with others. So, I have since realized that what I really wanted was the basic Frosted Lace (white sparkling and opaque). I have hardly any use for this color. However I do think that for anyone else who wants to add to a large collection, it does add variety and could be useful in the right situation.

    Edit: I apparently have found several LO's to use this on now... it works great with pinks and pastels and greens of course. It has a thicker tip (think the glitter pieces are a bit larger in this color than some others) and so it doesn't make for as precise placement as some of the other colors, but it is a great choice for a smear to cover technique (my favorite use for it). It adds lots of bling that way.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Silver

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Another Stickles Color I Like (28 December 2008)

    I just got this for Christmas... off my wishlist of course. I don't have a huge collection of colors. But decidedly absent had been the silver. I just tried it on a piece of white paper. It comes out beautifully (very smooth) and has a nice coloring to it. I know I will make good use of this one as well.



  • Review: Therm O Web - Adhesive Pick Up Square

    I recommend this product

    My quicker picker upper :) (19 October 2008)

    I use this thing all the time. It works especially well in conjunction with the Xyron Sticker Maker - which will sometimes leave a gluey residue along the edge of something that has been run throught it. It is also very useful in removing ill-placed rub-ons. It does not work to remove adhesive from photos if you happen to goof with your adhesive in that way. It also needs periodic clipping and or rubbing to remove the gunky buildup of adhesive after some use. Even so, the uses far outweigh these issues and the price can't be beat.



  • Review: 12 x 12 Colorbok - Jill Rinner The Perfect Scrapbook - Licorice

    I recommend this product

    A true 12 x 12 Album (06 September 2008)

    I love the fact that this album indeed fits 12" x 12" papers without any trimming. I only have the one black one. I have not noticed any problems with its cover becoming disheveled. The pages all lie very nicely. I have not opened it up and added or subtracted any pages and probably won't since the album I have is completed. My biggest disappointment is that I only have to one... and will be forced to buy more of these to complete other projects.... :)



  • Review: Queen and Company - Basic Brads - Round - 5mm - Silver and Gold

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    These are nice little basic brads. (06 September 2008)

    I purchased these because I wanted to get some very basic style brads that I could use on most any LO. Obviously gold and silver lend themselves to that a little more easily than some of the brighter colors. I am not a huge user of "3-D" embellishments. The size of these does not make them very bulky at all. The top colors do appear to be painted on with a nice, well-adhering paint. I was a little bit disappointed to find that the gold is not quite as pearly looking as it appears here... but the silver does appear very like the photos here. They do not look quite as rounded either though; their tops are slightly flat and then the sides curve down a little. But they still look very nice on the LO's I have used them on so far.



  • Review: Scenic Route Paper - Clear Acrylic Stamps - Arrows, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I like this arrow stamp set. (22 August 2008)

    I just completed my first LO using one of the arrows. I can definitely see myself using these numerous future projects. I like the choice of different sizes and styles of arrows. They come off the backing well and make a nice clear stamped image. They are definitely worth the small price.



  • Review: Provo Craft Zision Silent Setter

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Decent Setter (22 August 2008)

    I like this setter pretty well so far... after having only used it a few times. I like the fact that everything comes together in a convenient case. It seems to cut fairly easily and is indeed a lot quiter than my old hammer method. Plus I can get the eyelets pretty flat without worrying about getting too carried away and smashing them (again, like the old method). The only drawback is that the setter is a little bit harder to use on non-aluminum eyelets. Standing above the gadget and applying lots of pressure does seem to manage it OK however. So overall, I still think I'm pretty happy with it.



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Clear Stamps - Storytellers - Well Worn Journals

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Versatile Journaling (18 August 2008)

    As usual I was impressed with the quality of these TT stamps. Right out of the package they make a fine stamp. The line spacing is adequate for journaling a few thoughts while still having the abilitiy to read it clearly enough. I was also very pleased with the fact that the box/border is removable and can be used or not used as wanted. This is especially nice since extra journaling lines can be easily added above or below the first stamped image when the box isn't used. However, I had more difficulty than I anticipated trying to widen the journaling space by placing the lines side by side. I tried to do this several times, but finally had to give up because the seam is just too evident. This would have been nice since (although they are fairly good sized) they are still a little on the small side for some wordy LO's. The only other problem I have had with them is that "boxes" are a bit floppy and are difficult to place straightly - even with guides on the block.



  • Review: Xyron "X" Permanent Cartridge

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    One of my must haves (12 July 2008)

    I have used this product for several years now. I don't think that is a better way to secure small pieces of cardstock (especially those that have detailed edges). It also allows me to place ribbon borders very easily. I cannot be without this product when I scrap. I use it all the time.



  • Review: The Crafter's Workshop - 12 x 12 Doodling Templates - Scallop Swirls

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice design (11 July 2008)

    I borrowed this item to use for one of my layouts. I stenciled the doodle patterns with the use of a brush marker. I liked that the design looks a little hand drawn... OK much better in my case. I did have just a bit of difficulty with a few of the stencils since the template was just a bit too thin and moved a little. Likewise cleaning it required that a person be a bit careful not to bend it.



  • Review: Cutter Bee Scissors

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    These are great! (11 July 2008)

    I got these on the advice of members of this very website and have been absolutely thrilled with them. They are one of my MUST HAVE tools now. They can indeed cut very detailed pieces. But most impressive to me is that when I cut an edge with these it doesn't come out looking wobbly like it always used to with other scissors I've tried. The edge comes out much more defined and finished looking. My work looks so much better for it. I was so impressed, I purchased one for my SIL, and convinced my MIL that she needed a pair too. They get used often too.



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Clear Stamps - WhirlyGigs

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I love this set (11 July 2008)

    These were the very first clear stamps I purchased, and they definitely helped me become a clear stamp addict. :) I use these all the time. I really like the fact that they range from simple designs to the more ornate. I can use them on a lot of different projects and layouts. The stamps came off the backing with no trouble at all, and they didn't seem to require any conditioning to make the ink take to produce a nice clear image. I have had a couple of instances where the stamp didn't come out sharply in all the spots - but that was probably just operator error. Of course since they are clear stamps, I was easily able to remedy the problem by stamping directly over the original image.



  • Review: Autumn Leaves - Clear Stamps - Rhonna Farrer - Elegant Flourishes

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Absolutely Beautiful Stamp Set (11 July 2008)

    OK, although I have been tempted by these for a long, long time and did finally break down and purchase them, I have to admit that I haven't yet had the opportunity to use them on my own LO's. However, I did get to help my SIL use them on a few of hers. They easily came off of the backing (something I understand not all clear stamp sets always do). They inked up well and stamped a good image almost immediately (no conditioning seemed to be needed). She had never stamped in her albums before and had no problem with them. She even added crystal and flowers to enhance them even more. They went perfectly with such embellishments. She created absolutely beautiful images with these. I can hardly wait until I can find the appropriate uses for them for my own projects.



  • Review: The Crafter's Workshop - 12x12 Doodling Templates - Swirly Q's

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Swirly Q's Template (22 April 2008)

    I haven't tried this for stenciling yet, but I did trace out several of the swirls and then cut them out of cardstock for just the right flourishes for a LO. I really like the look and think I will use it again and again for more LO's in the future.



  • Review: Cropper Hopper Photo Case

    I recommend this product

    photo organization made really easy (03 August 2007)

    I really liked this product. I used it to help me organize my family's entire photo history. It is an easy size to handle and actually comes with the individual photo/negative containers which makes for compact collection of all the photos. In addition you could easily transport only the packets you were interested in at any one time. The packets also include label stickers which made for the most organized system. A person can easily find and retrieve individual photos and/or add new photos to the correct packet as necessary. My sister was absolutely amazed at how organized all those photos became.