Login

Need an account?
Already have an account?
Login Name:
Password:
Stay logged in
forgot password

Shopping

Varelse's Reviews

  • Review: Doodlebug Design - Loopy Lou Alphabet Cardstock Stickers - Ladybug

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the irregularity! (22 September 2008)


    As with most alphabets, I like a little irregularity and these alphas has just that. They also come in several different colors so that you can use them on more than a few backgroundpapers!

    They're easy to use as well. Just as regular stickers, you just peel them off and place them on your LO. I'm totally getting more of these!



  • Review: Fiskars 12 Inch Euro Craft Paper Trimmer, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So, so. (22 September 2008)


    This feels really plastic and also it doesn't have cm other than on the cutting-ruler.

    I already had a MM-papertrimmer when I got this and the only reason I did get it was to be able to cut out frames with a trimmer and not having to use ruler, pen and scissors. For that purpose, it works, but I do love my MM-trimmer so much more and would totally recommend the MM-trimmer over this one unless you want to cut out frames without having to use measuringtools, pen and scissors.

    It's not a bad trimmer though, and I would recommend it to someone that wants to start with a cheaper trimmer than the MM-one or someone who wants a lightweight trimmer to carry with them to crops and such.



  • Review: Fiskars - Border Punch - Threading Water

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So easy and so pretty! (22 September 2008)


    This is incredibly easy to use. You just align your paper, press the handle and voila! If you want to do a border on a 12"-paper, it's not a problem. You just take it little by little and align the paper with the pattern that's on both sides of the punch itself as you go. I love this tool! :)



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Adirondack Acrylic Paint Dabber - Metallics - Copper

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the dabbers! ;) (22 September 2008)


    I totally love these little dabbers with acrylic paint. They're very versatile and they leave no need for cleaning out brushes or anything. You just take the lid off and paint and when you're done you just put the lid back on and you're done!! Couldn't be much easier!!

    Although, I would recommend getting a fine brush to use with these if you want to paint tiny items because that can be tricky using the little sponge that's on the top. That's the only reason for four stars instead of five.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Adirondack Acrylic Paint Dabber - Metallics - Gold

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the dabbers! ;) (22 September 2008)


    I totally love these little dabbers with acrylic paint. They're very versatile and they leave no need for cleaning out brushes or anything. You just take the lid off and paint and when you're done you just put the lid back on and you're done!! Couldn't be much easier!!

    Although, I would recommend getting a fine brush to use with these if you want to paint tiny items because that can be tricky using the little sponge that's on the top. That's the only reason for four stars instead of five.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Adirondack Acrylic Paint Dabber - Metallics - Silver

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the dabbers! ;) (22 September 2008)


    I totally love these little dabbers with acrylic paint. They're very versatile and they leave no need for cleaning out brushes or anything. You just take the lid off and paint and when you're done you just put the lid back on and you're done!! Couldn't be much easier!!

    Although, I would recommend getting a fine brush to use with these if you want to paint tiny items because that can be tricky using the little sponge that's on the top. That's the only reason for four stars instead of five.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Adirondack Acrylic Paint Dabber - Metallics - Pearl

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love the dabbers! ;) (22 September 2008)


    I totally love these little dabbers with acrylic paint. They're very versatile and they leave no need for cleaning out brushes or anything. You just take the lid off and paint and when you're done you just put the lid back on and you're done!! Couldn't be much easier!!

    Although, I would recommend getting a fine brush to use with these if you want to paint tiny items because that can be tricky using the little sponge that's on the top. That's the only reason for four stars instead of five.



  • Review: Scotch ATG 714 - Adhesive Applicator Gun - Uses One Fourth Inch Adhesive (Purchase Separately)

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Don't know what I did without it. (22 September 2008)


    Before getting this, I used photo mounting squares which took alot of time when you're making 12x12-lo's. I'm so happy that I got this! It's easy to use with clear instructions on how to attach the taperoll and then use this tool. It saves you alot of time and is also way more ergonomic than those "small" adhesives like squares or dots or so if you use alot of adhesive. :)



  • Review: Signo - White Uni-ball Impact Pen

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great! (22 September 2008)


    I would totally recommend this one to anyone who wants to get a white scrap-pen.

    I took a chance and got two at once, and I don't regret it the least! It's so easy to write with and it doesn't smudge. It has a liiiittle drying time that you need to take into account, so that you don't smudge it yourself or anything, but it's a real quick time so it doesn't bother me.

    Also, you might want to doodle a bit on a piece of paper other than your lo before writing with it on your actual lo if you don't store it vertically tip down. I store it lying and that can cause the color in the pen to retract a bit from the tip. But as long as you're aware of that if you don't store it standing up, this is a totally awesome product! :)



  • Review: Therm O Web - Vellum Adhesive Runner

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Not for me. (22 September 2008)

    I really don't like this product. I don't know if it's me using it wrong or if it's just not that good.

    The tape is really sticky and sometimes it won't let go properly from the dispenser which causes it to release in big blots once you finally get it to stick on your paper. I thought this was so hard to use that I actually went back to my photo mounting squares to attach my ghost alphabet (which I luckily had painted first so the squares didn't show through).

    I would not recommend this. Get photo mounting sqaures, or glue dots or something instead! Or, if you use tape alot when you scrapbook, I'd recommend a glue gun like Scotch's ATG 714 which is kind of expensive but so easy to use!



  • Review: Scor-Pal - Scoring Board

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So easy to use! :D (22 September 2008)

    I love this!

    At first look, it seems really plastic and cheap but when you use it you realize how awesome it is!! It's so incredibly easy to use. The marks on the board are very clear and I love that it has a little holder for the scoringtool, so you won't lose it. I also love that it comes with instructions with examples on ways to use it.

    Thumbs up for this one!



  • Review: Fiskars - Scissors - 6 Pack Paper Edgers - Classic Set

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Fun. (06 September 2008)


    These are fun because you get six different patterns in one pack, but if you want to create patterns on larger pieces of paper like 12x12 I would probably recommend to get a ruler instead. I don't know what they're called in English, but I have some metal rulers with patterns on the side that you can align on your 12"-paper and then just rip it against the ruler to create the pattern.

    So, for smaller items like cards or so, these are fun! But on bigger items, like 12"-layouts I would recommend one of those ruler-thingys instead since they are easier to use on bigger things and also works faster since you won't have to align more than one time before you rip.



  • Review: Provo Craft Zision Silent Setter

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Silent and easy to use. (06 September 2008)


    You don't have to bang in order to set your eyelets with this setter. You just have to use the little handle and press down. Also, you get a little mat to use for punching holes and setting your eyelets so that you won't make ugly marks on your table.

    The different parts are really easy to switch since they're magnetic at the back. You don't have to screw them in place or anything. Just take one out and put in the next one!

    If you're not going to use eyelets on everything, this is a good product that isn't too costly, but in the long run, if you use ALOT of eyelets on your crafts you probably will get tired of switching and pushing all the time.

    So, if you're addicted to eyelets, I would probably recommend a more expensive tool that is more like a squeeze-handle kind of thing. But if you just want to set some eyelets every now and then, I would totally recommend this tool.



  • Review: Autumn Leaves - Foofala - Red - Black and Cream Collection - Bag-O-Buttons

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Buttons, buttons and more buttons! (06 September 2008)


    There are loads of buttons in each of these Foof-a-la packs and they come in different colors as well. I like how the buttons in each pack varies in colors, shapes and sizes so that you can get a unique look on whatever you are making from one and the same pack. You don't have to buy five different packs! (Unless you want to, of course! Lol)

    I just got started using buttons on cards and I really like them!



  • Review: Autumn Leaves - Foofla - Bella Collection - Bag O Buttons

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Buttons, buttons and more buttons! (06 September 2008)


    There are loads of buttons in each of these Foof-a-la packs and they come in different colors as well. I like how the buttons in each pack varies in colors, shapes and sizes so that you can get a unique look on whatever you are making from one and the same pack. You don't have to buy five different packs! (Unless you want to, of course! Lol)

    I just got started using buttons on cards and I really like them!



  • Review: Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Black Soot

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Versatile and pretty. (06 September 2008)


    I just LOVE the Tim Holtz-items and these distress ink pads are awesome! They come in so many colors (I haven't had time or money to collect them all, but I buy one or two every once in a while) and are more versatile than I expected.

    You can use them to ink the edges of paper for an older look, or you can use it with the blending tool to spread over a paper (I just ordered the blending tool and look forward to getting it, so far I've only seen it on Youtube. lol) and then spray some water over it and it will spread across your paper. There's just so much you can do with these!



  • Review: Coluzzle Starter Kit

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Easy cutting for a reasonable price! (06 September 2008)


    In this kit comes a cuttingmat, a swivel knife (for use with Coluzzle templates) and a retractable craft knife.

    You just put the cuttingmat on your table, place a paper of choice on top of the mat and then a template of choice on top of your paper. Then you use your swivel knife and just follow the template until you've cut everywhere and your shape is done!

    What I really love here is the swivel knife that even cuts through the thicker photopaper that I print my pics on. It needs a little more pressure than if you cut through regular pp or cs, but it works!



  • Review: Coluzzle Nested Oval Template

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Easy ovals. (06 September 2008)


    Use this with the Coluzzle swivel knife and cuttingmat and you're all set to cut out ovals in a bunch of different sizes! I like this since it's so easy to use and also easy if you want to cut an oval picture and then make an oval mat for it. Just cut the mat one oval-size bigger than the picture and you're all set to go! The same goes for the circle-template of course. :)



  • Review: Coluzzle Nested Circle Template

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Easy circles! (06 September 2008)


    Use this with the Coluzzle swivel knife and cuttingmat and you're all set to cut out circles in a bunch of different sizes!

    A tip is to turn the template 90 degrees after the first cuts are made and then align and cut again to get your full circle. Of course you can also just cut with the swivel knife and then cut the little strips left with a pair of scissors if you like. :)



  • Review: The Whale of a Punch - Tag Punch

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Easy to use. (06 September 2008)


    This product is really easy to use. You just put your paper into the punch, press the handle and voila! There's your tag for ya! It's a little bit smaller than I thought (but then again we have another system in Sweden so it's hard to estimate measurements sometimes) but it works really well and easy!



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Clear Stamps - Storytellers - Ledgers - Journal, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Journaling-stamp (06 September 2008)


    This is really great for journaling. You can either just stamp it directly on your lo or you can stamp it on another piece of paper in a coordinating color, cut it out and adhere it to your lo. With the amount of different stamping colors available, it is really easy to get it in just the color of your choice! :)



  • Review: Heidi Swapp Ghost Alphabets - Rhyme Upper Case - Clear, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Very pretty and versatile! (06 September 2008)


    These are very pretty. I love how they're a bit irregular in the shapes, it fits me just perfectly! :)

    Also, they're very versatile since they're clear embellies. You can choose whether to use them directly on your paper, or right across a picture. You can practically put them anywhere on your lo without them covering up a piece of it!

    And the description of these is as true as it gets: you really need to use your imagination on how to decorate and adhere them! Me, I'm not all that imaginary sometimes, so I made a forumpost asking for tips and tricks! :)



  • Review: Creative Imaginations - Creative Cafe Collection - Self Adhesive Gems - Sky, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Flowermiddles. (06 September 2008)


    I've used these in the middle of flower embellies and they're just sooo pretty. It's also great that they come in different sizes on the same sheet so that you can fit them onto the flower of choice!



  • Review: Creative Imaginations - Creative Cafe Collection - Self Adhesive Gems - Pearl Gems

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Flowermiddles. (06 September 2008)


    I've used these in the middle of flower embellies and they're just sooo pretty. It's also great that they come in different sizes on the same sheet so that you can fit them onto the flower of choice!



  • Review: Petaloo - It's Magic Mickey Disney Collection - Flowers - Dahlia Box Blend - Large - Red and Black, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So pretty! (06 September 2008)

    These are really pretty, which wouldn't surprise anyone who knows me since I love both red and black. Lol. But I think they're just the right size for placing as embellies on a 12x12 LO.

    I bet they're just as pretty on a smaller lo as well, it's just that I haven't done anything smaller than 12x12 so far! ;)



  • Review: American Crafts - Thickers - Vinyl Letter Stickers - Poolside - Grapefruit

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    A bit big, but very pretty! (19 August 2008)


    I gave these four stars because they were a bit bigger than I had thought, but they work very well on any LO for titling or marking out years. It would be neat if these came in a smaller size as well, to use for subtitling or sth. I have used them on my LO called "Den svenska klassikern (The Swedish Classic)" in my gallery and was very satisfied. :)



  • Review: Pebbles - Chalk Craft Eraser Refills

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    To go with the chalk and craft eraser. (19 August 2008)


    These refills are the same that the one already in the chalk and craft eraser when you get it. They erase chalk very well and to a very affordable price as well! :)



  • Review: Decorating Chalks - 24 Color, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I just love them! (19 August 2008)


    I just love these decorating chalks! They're awesome! You can use them to shade, add a sense of structure to die-cuts and other stuff, make a light (white, light grey and so on) look older and more vintage.. I totally love them!

    They also give a nice smooth and soft look when you apply them to your paper and now I won't have to collect a bunch of smaller trays of chalk since this one contains 24 colors!



  • Review: Pebbles - Chalk and Craft Eraser

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Works very well. (19 August 2008)

    In opposite to the 3 prong applicator from the same brand as this chalk and craft eraser, I really liked this one! :)

    It does what it's supposed to and it does it well! :) Erases chalk easily, so this product I would happily recommend to anyone in need of erasing chalks. ;)



  • Review: Pebbles Inc. - Paint Tools - Three Prong Applicator, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Not what I was looking for. (18 August 2008)

    I was looking for a tool to pick up and hold small cottonballs in order for you to chalk small things and so on. I was disappointed, I must say... It squeeks and has a really plastic feel to it.

    If you pick up a small cottonball with this, you have to hold down the "handle" while you're using the cottonball, otherwise it will retract and leave the cottonball in the little hole where the prong comes out. Which maybe could work with larger cottonballs then mine (they're tiny) but mine just kept falling out if I didn't press the "handle" down all the time to keep the prong outside of the hole.

    Maybe I'm just using it wrong, I don't know, but I would recommend to get another cottonball-tool if you want to pick up cottonballs and do something with them rather than just move them around. I gave this two stars because it does what it's supposed to: pick up small things like cottonballs, and because it's quite cheap.



  • Review: American Crafts - Boxed Ribbon - Travel - Planes, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So cute! (18 August 2008)

    I've never used ribbons before, so this is my very first box. At first I was a little disappointed that they had a ribbed structure to them, but once on the LO it looked fab! So I'm giving these ribbons five stars for being so cute and so usable! :)



  • Review: American Crafts - Thickers - Vinyl Letter Stickers - Poolside - Black, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Like the other colors better. (18 August 2008)


    I gave both the pinkish and the bluish of the thickers four stars because they were a bit bigger than what I had expected and also they had this kind of pattern-thing going on (since they're vinyl) but it was all good anyways.

    The black color in this font appeals to me less than the other two colors that I've tried so far, and thus the three stars. Although I like black, I still think the other colors were better on these particular thickers. Maybe I'll change my mind later, who knows? ;) They are still made in a very pretty font, though!



  • Review: Scenic Route Paper - Grafton Collection - 12x12 Die Cut Arrows - Grafton, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    They're big! (18 August 2008)

    These cardstock-diecut arrows have really pretty patterns and are available in more colors as well. I like them all in all, but even though it says they're on a 12x12-paper, I didn't expect them to be quite so big.

    The reason I only gave them four stars is that they're so big that you almost need to start your LO with placing the arrow to be sure it fits in it without taking over (unless you WANT it to take over, of course).



  • Review: Scenic Route Paper - Background Office Collection - 12x12 Cardstock - Diecut Arrows - Black and White, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    They're big! (18 August 2008)

    These cardstock-diecut arrows have really pretty patterns and are available in more colors as well. I like them all in all, but even though it says they're on a 12x12-paper, I didn't expect them to be quite so big.

    The reason I only gave them four stars is that they're so big that you almost need to start your LO with placing the arrow to be sure it fits in it without taking over (unless you WANT it to take over, of course).



  • Review: American Crafts - Thickers - Vinyl Letter Stickers - Poolside - Powder

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    My very first thickers. (18 August 2008)

    These are the first thickers I've ever used. I like them. I like the variety of color they come in and how easy they are to use. Just peel them off and stick them onto your LO or card.

    I only gave them four stars out of five though, because they were a liittle bit bigger than I suspected them to be and also they have a little bit of pattern on them since they're vinyl, but it's all good. :)



  • Review: Making Memories - 12x12 Paper Trimmer

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    I am impressed! (18 August 2008)

    This is such a good papertrimmer I wouldn't change it for anything! I thought my old one was... well... OK. It did it's job, but it was kinda hard to cut and you really had to push down the blade for it to cut properly. This one is SO easy to use. Just slide in the paper under the little plastic strip and cut!

    Also, I love the grid on the cuttingboard. You can fit a full 12x12-paper and cut all sorts of sizes with help from the grid. Makes perfect cuts every time with almost no effort needed at all. :) If you're gonna get a new papertrimmer, this one is worth every penny! (And I paid the regular price plus shipping to Sweden plus Swedish taxes which are 25% of the amount, and I still think it's worth every penny!)



  • Review: Scrap Tutor - Volume One and Volume Two - Bundle-Pack, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Awesome for beginners! :) (18 August 2008)

    This is a really good product for beginners (like me). It gives ALOT of good tips and also shows them in videoclips. I'm the kind of person who learns better by actually seeing how it works and not only reading about it, so this is perfect for me. :)

    I would totally recommend this to anyone who is in need of scrapbooking-tips that are both easy to do and comes out really neat. It shows how much the little additions can change the experience of a page.



  • Review: Creative Imaginations - Busted Collection - 12x12 Paper - It Wasn't Me, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Cool paper. (18 August 2008)


    This is a cool paper for scrapping the (not so) innocent kids (or adults), whether it's you or someone else. If you like you can just use the whole paper as a background and use the already printed words as your title, or you can cut out pieces of this paper and use on another background. I really like it. :)



  • Review: EK Success Disney Collection Patterned Vellum - Mickey Swirls Vellum

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So pretty! (14 August 2008)

    I just got these home today. They are sooo pretty! I think I just might have to order some more for my stash so I can use them in some more of my future LO's! I LOVE them! :)



  • Review: EK Success Disney Collection Patterned Vellum - Mickey Dots Vellum, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    So pretty! (14 August 2008)

    I just got these home today. They are sooo pretty! I think I just might have to order some more for my stash so I can use them in some more of my future LO's! I LOVE them! :)