Login

Need an account?
Already have an account?
Login Name:
Password:
Stay logged in
forgot password

Shopping

share

Scrapstitcher's Reviews

  • Review: Fiskars - Paper Cutter with Built In Ribbon Curler

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Very handy to have (22 April 2014)

    I got this free with my order during the holidays. I used it while wrapping gifts and love how easy and effortlessly it just cut through the paper.



  • Review: Simple Stories - SNAP Collection - 4 x 6 Cards - Urban Traveler

    I recommend this product

    nice set of cards (14 March 2014)

    Nice little book of 4x6 and 3x4 cut-apart double-sided cards. Made of thinner cardstock-weight paper. Cards have either titles, journaling spots, labels that you can cut apart if you want, or just patterned paper. Love the colors in this collection. Giving this particular item 4 stars instead of 5 because the pad started falling apart as soon as I opened it. Not bound together very well. But still nice.



  • Review: Simple Stories - Urban Traveler Collection - 6 x 6 Paper Pad

    I recommend this product

    simple stories 6x6 urban traveler paper pad (14 March 2014)

    Nice 6x6 paper pad with a travel theme to it. Love the colors and patterns in this collection. I love that this Simple Stories 6x6 pad includes patterns not only from the main collection of papers, but also from the smaller coordinating Urban Traveler Simple Basics line which includes the tone-on-tone patterned papers with the lighter beige/grey tone-on tone b-sides that have newsprint, a map, ledger paper, chevrons, etc. Even a smaller version of the bingo cards (1-1/2" x 2") are included.

    It does not, however, include a smaller version of the 4x6 or 3x4 and other cut apart cards like Summer Fresh did last year. Also, this paper pad has 24 double-sided sheets of 6x6 paper whereas Summer Fresh had 36 single-sided sheets. I'm comparing the two collections since these are the only Simple Stories collections that I've bought so far. And just like the 4x6 snap card pad, it started falling apart as soon as I opened it. Not bound together very well. But still a nice little paper pad that I know I will get a lot of use out of.



  • Review: Simple Stories - SNAP Collection - Christmas - 4 x 6 Cards - December Documented

    I recommend this product

    Nice set of 4x6 and 3x4 cards (14 March 2014)

    Fun, colorful set of cards perfect for Dec Daily, PL, with the Snap binders or on regular scrapbook pages.



  • Review: Simple Stories - SNAP Collection - Christmas - Memorabilia Pockets - December Documented

    I recommend this product

    snap pockets (14 March 2014)

    I love the Simple Stories Snap Pockets. They're nice for adding extra tags or photos to the inside covers of a chipboard album or you could use them on the inserts in the Snap binders. Or on regular scrapbook pages. I will be buying more of these type of pockets in the future.



  • Review: Simple Stories - December Documented Collection - Christmas - 12 x 12 Collection Kit

    I recommend this product

    Simple Stories Dec Documented collection kit (14 March 2014)

    Love the patterns in this collection of papers.



  • Review: Scrapbook Generation Publishing - Sketches for Scrapbooking - Travel Sketches

    I recommend this product

    Use this all the time (14 March 2014)

    I have and use a lot of the Scrapbook Generation sketch books and downloads they offer. I love them all and use them quite often for my scrapbooking. This travel-related one uses 8x10 enlargements on some of the layouts. And the sketches are for anywhere from 3 to 11 photos. You get 30 sketches total. I use this book for more than just travel photos though. Since I take a lot of pictures, the two-page multi-photo sketches really come in handy for other types of layouts as well. The sketches tell you exactly what size to cut everything and whether to use large print, small print or striped paper. This sketchbook also includes tips throughout the book on journaling, photography, and general travelling tips pertaining to scrapbooking and taking pictures. I love SG sketches and can't say enough good things about them. I'd give them 10 stars if I could. :)



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Thumb Notch Punch

    I recommend this product

    Very useful (14 March 2014)

    Good quality, punches well. The packaging says to use a piece of paper behind plastic pocket pages, so be sure to do that for stability when punching. Punches out an elongated, rounded, thumb notch in pocket pages. Useful and at a good price.



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Clear Acrylic Stamps - Grid

    I recommend this product

    Love this (14 March 2014)

    Perfect for Project Life or other pocket-page scrapbooking or regular scrapbook layouts. Love that it can be used vertically or horizontally making it quite versatile. And also that I can have an unlimited supply of PL cards that I can stamp in whatever color I choose. PL supplies aren't readily available to me locally, so it's nice to save money on supplies where I can. This stamp will end up saving me money in the long run. Plus Technique Tuesday stamps always stamp beautifully.



  • Review: Technique Tuesday - Die - Geotag

    I recommend this product

    Finally - a geotag die (14 March 2014)

    I was hoping that someone would come out with a geotag die (or punch) and was happy to see that Technique Tuesday did. This one cuts out beautifully with the Big Shot and is about 3-3/4" high x 1-3/4" wide with a 1" circle in the center.

    I hope they come out with a smaller-sized one too *hint hint*



  • Review: F+W Publications Inc. - Memory Makers Books - Page Maps 2 by Becky Fleck

    I recommend this product

    Great Resource (22 February 2014)

    I love this book of inspiration and sketches. And was thrilled to have found it in one of the local discount stores back during the summer of 2012 for $5.99! It had been on my wishlist for a year before that since it had come out..... In the first chapter called "Tried & True, there are a nice variety of layouts...besides single 12x12 scrapbook sketches, there are also sketches for 12x12 double layouts, and 8-1/2 x 11 horizontal & vertical & double layouts.

    The next chapter - "Heartfelt Greetings" - has sketches for cards

    The 3rd chapter - "Scribble Outside the Lines", has more scrapbook sketches where the artist has done their own thing based on the sketch to kick it up a notch. Again, a variety of page sizes and page orientation (vertical, horizontal) are covered in this section with both single and double-page layouts.

    The 4th chapter, "Beyond the Page", has a nice assortment of projects that include a circular scrapbook page, home decor items, mini albums, and other fun projects. The sketches could also be used for just regular scrapbook pages as well.

    The 5th and final chapter, "Pushing Pixels" has digital scrapbook layouts with sketches which could, of course, be easily used for traditional paper scrapping.

    A nice laminated set of 4" x 5-1/2" cards is included in the back of the book that you punch out and can hold together with a big book ring if you want or just rubberband them together. There are 33 cards with sketches for 12x12 single or double-page layouts, 26 for 8-1/2 x 11, and five for cards.

    If you love sketches like I do, I highly recommend getting this book. Lots of inspiration for a nice variety of papercrafting projects. And the sketches use pretty much standard size photos like 4x6, 5x7, wallets, or that you can get by either trimming off a 4x6 or by using PhotoSheet to get the sizes you need.



  • Review: Simple Stories - SNAP Studio Collection - Binder - Red

    I recommend this product

    Nice, sturdy, good quality (22 February 2014)

    I purchased this red Snap binder at a somewhat local craft store around Christmastime to use for my December Daily. I was quite impressed with it once I got it home and unwrapped the plastic covering it. I love all the cute red and white patterns on the inserts that match the binder. They are of a nice thickness and can be used for extra pictures, journaling or a place to put some of the snap pockets. There are also a few chipboard inserts that you can cover with paper or decorate however you wish. It also comes with ten page protectors with different pocket orientations... two each of five different styles.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Lucky 8 Punch - Border and Corner Punch - Frilly Lace

    I don't recommend this product

    Not Very Versatile (19 November 2013)

    If you're looking to use this punch to make a large 10-1/2" x 11" doily circle out of a 12x12" piece of paper, then this punch is great for that. However, if you make the same mistake I did, and assume that you can make the same beautiful doily design in the smaller sizes, think again. This punch only makes a nice big doily in ONE size ONLY. For the smaller sizes that are suggested on the packaging, they are ONLY for the outer solid shape. BUT you will not end up with a perfect scallop-shaped circle or whatever that outer, solid shape starts out as at the largest size. As you go smaller, the shape gets really wonky and not something I have any interest in using. :(. When I bought this punch, I was under the impression that I could punch out doilies in 5 or 6 different sizes. once I got it home, and started using it, however, I found out soon enough how limited this punch really is. I was very disappointed and I returned it to the store (TJ Maxx) immediately for a refund. Even at $15, I thought that was too much to pay for a huge, bulky, heavy, hard-to-store tool that turned out to not be as versatile as I thought it to be....and only useful for one good thing - making huge doilies in only one size. Well technically three things... making a huge doily in one size, making a solid punched shape in a large size - only ONE size that isn't wonky, and the option where you can punch the inside out but not the outside (large size). You are not going to get the same results as you go smaller though. I wouldn't pay $15, much less $35-$40 + shipping online. I own and use quite a few WRMK tools, and generally love their products. Just not this one. I researched this product online, read the reviews, watched the videos, etc. before I made the decision to purchase a couple of the Lucky 8 punches, and I honestly thought I knew what I was getting. But none of the videos show what the punched pieces look like as you go smaller. :(



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Brad Setter and Piercing Tool

    I recommend this product

    One of my most used tools (30 July 2013)

    I've had this handy tool for several years now and still love and use it all the time. The paper piercer is a nice thickness so that it pierces a decent-sized hole for the prongs of your brads to go through. And the other end makes prying apart the ends of the brads a cinch. I use a thick foam mat underneath my project when piercing the holes (the old Bazzill In-Stitch'z mat(s)). I also love the ergonomic design which fits comfortably in my hand. It also comes with a protective cover for the piercing end. I wasn't going to buy this tool when it first came out, but I'm so glad I did because I've found it to be so useful and nice to have in my basic scrapbooking tools drawer.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Envelope Punch Board

    I recommend this product

    I love this envelope punch board! (30 July 2013)

    I just received my envelope punch board about a week and a half ago and absolutely love it so far. I've been playing around with it making all different sizes of envelopes from the very smallest gift card size to the largest one that's 6-1/4" x 9". I love how they tell you right on the board the size of the card (or whatever it is you're putting in there) that the envelope will hold. So the one that says 3x4, for example, will actually be big enough to hold a 3x4 photo, card, journaling spot or whatever. Sure, the board isn't large enough to do the scorelines that are called for on the two long sides of the largest card, but it was easy enough for me to just line it up on my Martha Stewart board and finish scoring the line. No big deal. I also love that this awesome tool has instructions on how to make 66 different sizes of envelopes! I am not even really a cardmaker either. I mean I've made some cards here and there, but I am more of a scrapbooker than anything. I got this envelope punch board to use the envelopes on my layouts, in my December Dailies and mini albums. And for the occasional card that I might make. Plus the fact that you can also make file folders with it is another extra bonus. This is a new cool scrappy tool that I know I'll get a lot of use out of.



  • Review: Advantus - Tim Holtz - Idea-ology - A Compendium of Curiosities Idea Book

    I recommend this product

    A great reference book (21 March 2013)

    I waited a few years before buying "A Compendium of Curiosities" because I had read reviews saying this book was 1/2 advertising. My local J's has finally started selling Tim Holtz stuff including this book. And so I was finally, (3 years after the book was released), able to see the book in person and look through it before buying it. I bought it yesterday, with a coupon, so I got it for about $15. Not bad. The first 30 pages are more of an overview of the products and tools used. I don't mind this because I think the photos are inspiring and I love looking at them and seeing the different ways his little doo dads can be used. Then there are tutorials for 35 different techniques! I think that makes this book worth the money right there. Well not full price (get it on sale if you can). Thirty-five techniques, each on one page, described in six clear, concise, easy-to-understand steps. With pictures of each step. Once I sat down yesterday afternoon to immediately start reading the book after buying it, I couldn't put the book down! I LOVE this book! It is so inspiring! I will get much more use from my stash of Tim Holtz goodies now that this book has shown me all the cool things that I can do with them. Yes, I read Tim's blog and watch the videos that probably have shown these techniques somewhere along the way before, but it's so nice to have these instructions right at my fingertips in my scrap room without having to do a search on the internet. That way I can start or continue my crafting without being distracted or wasting time on the computer. The book is nicely made with a hard cover and spiral binding inside so it lays nice and flat. It's a nice size too, so it doesn't take up much room on your crafting table.

    I'm definitely getting book 2 now. Can't wait....



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Sew Easy - Needles

    I recommend this product

    Perfect size for stitching on your layouts (13 March 2013)

    These needles are a nice thick size for stitching on your layouts. I love this size and the price is reasonable. The eye of these needles is large so stitching with perle cotton or baker's twine is a breeze. But if they sell out, they are pretty much the same size (thickness) of a #18 tapestry needle - except these ones are a tad bit shorter and have more of a blunt tip than the #18's do.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Sew Easy - Piercing Mat

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Sew Easy Piercing Mat (13 March 2013)

    I bought this mat to go with all the Sew Easy stuff I had bought. When it arrived, it was warped and wouldn't lay flat. It is because of this reason and the fact that the felt covering that has the grid design on it is peeling off that I'm giving this product only 2 stars. They need to come up with a better adhesive for holding the felt/grid part onto the foam that also won't gum up your piercing tools. I like the Bazzill In Stitches piercing mat much more because the grid is printed directly onto the foam. Not sure if they even still make the Bazzill one though since I've had mine for a long time. The only reason that I clicked on yes for recommend to a friend is because you need the mat to use with the piercing tool. I just think the mat could be made better though.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Glossy Accents - Clear Dimensional Embellishment - 2 ounces

    I recommend this product

    One of my favorite adhesives (08 June 2012)

    This is what I use for my heavier embellishments like chipboard, buttons, and whatnot. A little goes a long way, so don't put too much on because it really spreads. I've used mine a lot and I still have quite a bit of it left. The only annoying thing is the tip clogs constantly. So I have a large safety pin that I keep handy to unclog the tip. Other than that, this is one of my favorite adhesives that I use regularly.



  • Review: Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Old Paper

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great for that vintage/heritage look (23 September 2011)

    One of my favorites for giving an old look to paper, journaling spots, etc.



  • Review: QuicKutz - Revolution - 4 x 4 Shape Die - Spotted Butterfly

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Pretty butterfly (23 September 2011)

    Nice size butterfly that you use three different ways - layered, or either layer by itself. The bottom layer is a solid cut-out, so you can dry emboss or stamp a design on it for added texture.



  • Review: EK Success - Paper Shapers - Slim Profile - Edger Punch - Double Embossed Dotted Lace

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Makes a pretty scalloped border (23 September 2011)

    I bought this punch knowing beforehand that the embossing didn't work very well. I wanted it for the nice size of the scallops. It really adds that extra something to a scrapbook page or card. It's one of my favorites.



  • Review: Imaginisce - I-Rock Tool - Cordless Crystal Heat Setting Applicator

    I don't recommend this product

    Poor Quality (05 September 2011)

    I always research everything I buy for scrapbooking. Read the reviews and all that. I had read a lot of bad reviews about the i-rock breaking but thought enough time had gone by for them to work out any bugs and went ahead and bought one earlier this year. Well let's just say that I'm on my third one since the first two broke on me and I had to have them both replaced from Imaginisce. The first one I used just a few times before it broke - the spring inside of the button that you push forward to keep it on while using it popped out. The same exact thing happened to the second i-rock I had the very first time I went to use it. Stupid spring popped out. This third one has been sitting in the package since I got the replacement for several months now since I haven't had a need to use it yet. I hope this one doesn't end up breaking on me too since I have quite a few of the rhinestones and some of the templates invested in it. As much as I love using bling on some of my layouts, I think the i-rock is not a quality tool. It's a $13 piece of junk. And if I had it to do over again, I would not have spent all the money I did on it and the stuff to go with it. So next time I will take heed when I read a lot of bad reviews about a product. Live and learn.



  • Review: QuicKutz - Revolution Dies - Antique Flourish

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Beautiful Flourishes (09 July 2011)

    I love using these flourishes on my layouts with flowers especially. They would also work well with anything that you want to give a sense of movement like snowflakes, falling leaves, etc. These delicate flourishes give layouts that extra special touch.



  • Review: QuicKutz - Basic Shapes Dies - Snowflake

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    pretty snowflake (09 July 2011)

    I don't know why it says "2 layers" in the product description, but this is actually a tiny 2" x 2" die that is only one of the long and short parts of the snowflake. To create the snowflake that's shown, you have to run it through your die cutting machine 6 times. Then use a brad in the center to hold all the little pieces together. Kind of tedious and not really what I was expecting - hence the 4 star rating. But it is a pretty 2-1/2" snowflake when you're all done piecing it together.



  • Review: Bo Bunny - Timepiece Collection - 12 x 12 Collection Pack

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love love love this collection (10 June 2011)

    I am working on a heritage gift album for a family member and these papers and the coordinating embellishments have been perfect for this project. I absolutely love it. I bought one set for this album and other for myself because I'll be eventually scrapbooking the same pics for my immediate family. This is the first Bo Bunny collection pack that I've bought and I think it's a great value for the money. You get 2 each of 9 different double-sided cardstock-weight papers - one has different things you can out like titles, journaling spots, etc. (I bought that one separately too because I wasn't sure if it was included). Plus it has a nice cardstock sticker sheet with an alpha, borders, etc. There are all but two of the patterned papers offered in this entire collection in this pack. And those are the gears and the one with the shutters ("Villa). If you want those two, you have to buy them separately. Oh, and of course the die cut clock isn't in there either. These papers are a nice weight so they distress beautifully and they go perfectly with a lot of the Tim Holtz dies and embellishments. Definitely a fun collection to work with.



  • Review: BasicGrey Magnetic Snaps - Closures - Round - Small

    I recommend this product

    Nice paper thin super strong magnets (10 June 2011)

    I had these in my stash for awhile before finally putting them to use the other day on a layout. I used them for a flip up section that has a lot of journaling. Thanks to these wonderful little magnets, I was able to make a layout that not only includes lots of pictures, but extensive journaling as well. The magnets work wonderfully even through multiple layers of cardstock, etc. I added a little drop of Glossy Accents just to be sure they would stay put. No big deal.



  • Review: Zutter - Distrezz It All - Electric Distressing Tool

    I recommend this product

    Distressing is so easy & fast now (07 June 2011)

    I've used both the Tim Holtz and Heidi Swapp distressing tools, and let me tell you the Zutter Distrezz-it-All blows both of them away. I've only used my Tim Holtz one on a few layouts and it's already dull and ripping the paper (where I don't want it to rip). Mind you, that I am generally a huge fan of Tim Holtz products and use a lot of his other products A LOT. I hesitated buying the Zutter because of the cost. it IS pricey. But once I got it, I can honestly say it is worth getting if you like to do distressing on your layouts. This tool is AWESOME! I absolutely love it and love the look it gives on my layouts. The only thing is it is LOUD. The room I work in has no carpeting, and I don't know if that just amplifies it more, but it sounds like I'm using power tools in there. lol! Definitely not something you want to be using when you're scrapping at night when other people are trying to sleep. I wish the cord was just a little longer. I have to use an extension cord for it to reach my scrap table which is really not that far from the outlet. And although the paper dust catcher does contain most of the mess, some of it will end up on your table too. No biggie, though. I like to go against the blade for a really distressed look, so that's probably why I get a lot of dust. lol!



  • Review: Advantus - Tim Holtz - Idea-ology Collection - Memo Pins

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Like the look of the memo pins but... (06 June 2011)

    they are a pain to use. I just started using this product to add a Tim Holtz Adage Ticket to a layout, and I had the hardest time sliding the ticket into the memo pin. I had to use a butter knife to hold it open just enough to get the ticket in. But even that took a few tries to get it to work. Luckily, I didn't stab myself with the pointy end of the pin.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Crackle Paint - Old Paper

    I recommend this product

    Love Distress Crackle Paint (19 April 2011)

    This is the only color I own so far. I just recently started using it and absolutely love the results. I've used it on chipboard shapes so far. I put it on real thick and then just let it sit overnight. When I come back to my project in the morning, it has a really nice crackled effect. Now I want more colors of the distress crackle paint. I can see using this a lot on future projects.



  • Review: ScrapCessories - Cartridge Caddy Case - Black

    I don't recommend this product

    Lid does not completely close right (13 September 2010)

    I bought this to store my Cricut Solutions and Seasonal cartridges in. The lid does not slide completely shut leaving a gap between the box and lid thus allowing dust to get inside. I tried contacting the ScrapCessories company directly through their website telling them of this problem and have NEVER gotten a response from them. This was over 6 weeks ago. This storage option was not cheap considering I had to buy the inserts for the cartridges separately on top of the cost of the box. I think that for what I paid, it should be a box where the lid actually slides closed all the way for goodness sake. That on top of the fact that they have crappy customer service (won't respond to e-mails) is a reason I won't buy anymore of the ScrapCessories products.



  • Review: ScrapCessories - Cartridge Caddy Case - Green

    I don't recommend this product

    Lid does not completely close right (13 September 2010)

    I bought this to store my Cricut Solutions and Seasonal cartridges in. The lid does not slide completely shut leaving a gap between the box and lid thus allowing dust to get inside. I tried contacting the ScrapCessories company directly through their website telling them of this problem and have NEVER gotten a response from them. This was over 6 weeks ago. This storage option was not cheap considering I had to but the inserts for the cartridges separately on top of the cost of the box. I think that for what I paid, it should be a box where the lid actually slides closed all the way for goodness sake. That on top of the fact that they have crappy customer service (won't respond to e-mails) is a reason I won't buy anymore of the ScrapCessories products.



  • Review: ScrapCessories - Cartridge Caddy Case - Pink

    I don't recommend this product

    Lid does not completely close right (13 September 2010)

    I bought this to store my Cricut Solutions and Seasonal cartridges in. The lid does not slide completely shut leaving a gap between the box and lid thus allowing dust to get inside. I tried contacting the ScrapCessories company directly through their website telling them of this problem and have NEVER gotten a response from them. This was over 6 weeks ago. This storage option was not cheap considering I had to buy the inserts for the cartridges separately on top of the cost of the box. I think that for what I paid, it should be a box where the lid actually slides closed all the way for goodness sake. That on top of the fact that they have crappy customer service (won't respond to e-mails) is a reason I won't buy anymore of the ScrapCessories products.



  • Review: ScrapCessories - Cartridge Caddy Case - White

    I don't recommend this product

    Lid does not completely close right (13 September 2010)

    I bought this to store my Cricut Solutions and Seasonal cartridges in. The lid does not slide completely shut leaving a gap between the box and lid thus allowing dust to get inside. I tried contacting the ScrapCessories company directly through their website telling them of this problem and have NEVER gotten a response from them. This was over 6 weeks ago. This storage option was not cheap considering I had to buy the inserts for the cartridges separately on top of the cost of the box. I think that for what I paid, it should be a box where the lid actually slides closed all the way for goodness sake. That on top of the fact that they have crappy customer service (won't respond to e-mails) is a reason I won't buy anymore of the ScrapCessories products.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Crafter's 16 x 20 Inch Magnetic Mat and 18 Inch Magnetic Ruler

    I recommend this product

    Awesome tool - can't scrap without it (13 September 2010)

    I bought my WRMK Magnetic Mat the Spring of 2010 and I absolutely love it. It stays out on my scrapbooking table at all times and I use it every time I scrapbook. It's a definite must have for me. I scrapbook a lot of double-page 12x12 layouts and this mat helps me to line up all my papers, photos, ribbon, etc. etc. perfectly straight all the way across both pages. I can scrap both sides at the same time by centering them on the mat at the 9" mark. Then only a couple inches hang off each side which is not bad. I use the Basic Grey magnetic refills with this mat (I have 2 pkgs - or 20 magnets total) since I've had a hard time finding the WRMK ones anywhere. I store my Ranger craft sheet underneath this magnetic one and just slide it out when I need it. I have the older purple version of this mat. The only difference that I can tell between mine and this new pink one is that mine doesn't have the scalloped edges, my ruler doesn't have the holes going across in the middle, and the purple one didn't come with any magnets. It's nice that they're including four now.



  • Review: Fiskars - 12 Inch Premium Cut-Line Portable Trimmer - Blade Style I

    I recommend this product

    Great Trimmer (14 May 2010)

    I just got the Fiskars Premium Cut-Line trimmer a week ago and so far I'm really loving it - especially because of the wire that shows you EXACTLY where the blade will cut (which is perfect for cutting between journaling strips - absolutely love that). I also love the wider base of 6-1/4" as opposed to my other Fiskars trimmer which is only about 3". So I don't have to swing the side arm out just to crop or mat photos meaning that it actually takes up LESS space on my scrapbooking table than my other 3" wide Fiskars trimmer. Plus it has markings that are underneath the acrylic in 1/2" increments for lining up your paper perfectly and for standard photo sizes & even one for a standard size A2 card that won't ever rub off and an extension that swings out from the side that gives you a total of 15-1/4". Plus it takes the same exact blade refills as my other trimmer which I already have a couple refill packs for from when they were on sale. And just like my other Fiskars trimmer, I love this one also because you can cut thinner strips of paper. I guess with some other trimmers you can't do that?? And the paper guard/blade locks down, which is nice.



  • Review: Martha Stewart Crafts - Scoring Board

    I recommend this product

    I LOVE My Martha Stewart Scoring Board (14 May 2010)

    I LOVE my MS Score Board (just got mine last Sunday - yea!) I've been playing with it and can't believe how easy it is to score cardstock for cards, envelopes and boxes. It gives you instructions on how big to cut your cs for whatever it is you're doing and where to make your score lines right on the tool. They give you directions for 8 different sized regular cards, 8 different gate-fold cards, 8 envelopes to go with the cards - and there's directions for if you have a card with dimensionals or a card that's flat so your card will fit perfectly inside the envelope. PLUS there's directions for 8 different sizes of boxes. If you cut off 1/2" or 1" of the box lid - you can use your border punches for a really pretty box! Think party favors, treats for kids, gifts for birthdays, Christmas, etc. etc. The envelope template stores right on the back of the score board. With the score grooves being 1/8" apart across the whole board, I am sure you could probably do a whole lot more than what the directions on the tool give you. I'm waiting for someone to come up with tutorials on their blog/YouTube showing what else can be made. All that for only $20. That's why I didn't hesitate buying it last Sunday at the LSS when I saw they had just gotten them in.

    ETA: Ok it's now been a year since I bought my MS Score Board. I still love it and use it all the time, but I would like to add that the scoring tool that comes with it wears down very quickly. Mine wore down to a point after making some hot cocoa pockets this past winter. So I've been using the bone folder that comes with the Cricut tool kit. It has a metal tip that won't wear down. Other than that, that's the only negative thing I can say about this awesome scoreboard. I've been using it a lot for making interactive pages for my mini albums too.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - 72 and Sunny Collection - 12 x 12 Designer Scrapbook Pad, CLEARANCE

    I recommend this product

    Bright and Cheerful (14 April 2010)

    I bought this the other day at my LSS along with the coordinating cardstock pad and a package of the dimensional chipboard words. I love the bright, cheerful colors in this pad. This will be great for scrapping all those summer photos. I don't know why they have a sun pictured on the cover because there aren't any papers in this pad that look like that. In fact, those pages are actually a solid kraft color. You get 3 each of 16 different patterned papers in this pad, 4 of which are glittered. In the back of the pad are some cute matching punch-outs, a colorful punch-out alphabet and a white glittered chipboard alphabet.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - In Stitch'z - Cardstock Stitching Template - 8 x 8 Circles

    I recommend this product

    Nice stitching template (09 April 2010)

    I do a lot of hand stitching on my pages and I have just about every Bazzill In-Stitches template out there. And am always looking forward to when they come out with more. I absolutely LOVE the borders especially and have made my own flowers by using their stitching templates for flowers and then carefully cutting out and adding to my page with a sewn on button. This circle template is great for stitching, marking your layout for placing bling, brads, eyelets or whatever you want to make a circle out of - in 13 different size circles from 1-1/2" to 7-1/2". It even gives you a template for stitching straight lines if you want.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - In Stitch'z - Cardstock Stitching Template - Bring Me Flowers

    I recommend this product

    Awesome Tool (09 April 2010)

    I do a lot of hand stitching on my pages and I have just about every Bazzill In-Stitches template set out there. And am always looking forward to when they come out with more. I absolutely LOVE the borders especially and have made my own flowers by using their stitching templates for flowers and then carefully cutting out and adding to my page with a sewn on button.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - In Stitchz - Border Templates - Edgy Borders

    I recommend this product

    Awesome Tool (09 April 2010)

    I do a lot of hand stitching on my pages but would like to try using my sewing machine for scrapbooking. I have just about every Bazzill In-Stitches template out there. And am always looking forward to when they come out with more. I absolutely LOVE the borders especially and have made my own flowers by using their stitching templates for flowers and then carefully cutting out and adding to my page with a sewn on button.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - In Stitch'z Collection - Stitching Template - Flourishes

    I recommend this product

    Awesome tool to have (09 April 2010)

    I do a lot of hand stitching on my pages but would like to try using my sewing machine for scrapbooking. I have just about every Bazzill In-Stitches template out there. And am always looking forward to when they come out with more. I absolutely LOVE the borders especially and have made my own flowers by stitching and then carefully cutting out and adding to my page with a sewn on button. These flourishes are great to put with flowers on your pages and to create a sense of movement for things like shooting stars, leaves, snowflakes, etc.



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Crop-A-Dile - Corner Chomper Tool

    I recommend this product

    Great tool (09 April 2010)

    I love my Corner Chomper and use it all the time. Just like the Crop-a-dile, it will cut through lots of different materials - chipboard, acrylic, photos, cardstock, pp, etc. I like how it has two different sizes - 1/4" and 1/2" rounded corner options in one tool. I do use both sizes, depending on what I'm doing or the look I'm going for. And it catches all my clippings that I can empty directly into my wastebasket. It's a sturdy, well-made tool. I feel it was worth the $25 I paid for it at my LSS considering how versatile it is and how much use I get out of it.



  • Review: Bazzill Basics - 12 x 12 Premium Cardstock Multi-Pack - 100 Sheets

    I recommend this product

    Great Value (09 April 2010)

    I love this huge pack of Bazzill cardstock. You get so much for the money - 4 sheets each of 25 colors - 4-5 of those colors are the Bazzill Bling. And there's a nice variety of the different Bazzill textured cardstock - 6 different textures in all. Definitely worth getting. Just a heads up though....this is cardstock that has been discontinued by Bazzill by the single sheet. So don't plan on trying to match them up if you run out. It's still a great value though.



  • Review: EK Success - Cutter Bee - Curvy Cutter Circle Template Kit

    I recommend this product

    I Love My Curvy Cutter (25 July 2009)

    And am so glad I decided to go with this cutting system even though it is more expensive than some others. I love using it for cutting out photos, mats and patterned paper. It cuts in 1/8" increments, so it makes really nice mats for your photos or can make rings for your pages. If you use the smaller circle template, you can turn the Curvy Cutter tool so it's facing the outside edge of the template and cut out a circle that's about 11-1/2" in diameter. This is a very versatile circle cutter. And like I said, I love mine. I use the EK Success 13" x 13" glass mat and a little repositionable adhesive on the glass to hold my photos or paper in place. It cleans up easily with a little glass cleaner and a paper towel. I also have the oval templates.