Login

Need an account?
Already have an account?
Login Name:
Password:
Stay logged in
forgot password

Shopping

Blushpea's Reviews

  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Black Diamond

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Cool black glitz (27 March 2010)

    This is an interesting & groovin color… for me, some Stickles are REALLY glittery while others have more of a subtle shimmer. This is in the more glittery category but because the shade is so dark, you do not get THAT much light-reflectiveness. But there is definitely a cool sparkle that looks great accenting edgier dark stuff. It has some multi-hued flecks in it – purple, blue, green – you can see then in the bottle or when dry but note you do not see them much when this is wet. I would like to see more black shades with bits of color the way there are so many white ones with colors. Rockin’!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Purple

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Brilliant purple! (27 March 2010)

    I got into Stickles kinda late & bought the Stickles Starter set so I could try several at once. I am so glad this color was in there! I like purple okay, but this color makes me LOVE purple! It is so super-glittery! Note that some Stickles have a softer shine than others, but THIS color has showstopping shine. So nice to have instant pizzazz on your projects with Stickles! I accented some silver & white holiday cards I made in December w/ assorted Stickles, I was pleasantly surprised how fabulously the ones accented in this purple came out! Yeah, this made a glittery purple lover outta me!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Green

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Excellent & shiny true green (27 March 2010)

    I have mentioned that some Stickles are more glittery than others – this is one of the super-glitzy ones! I adore the shine this has, plus it is a true medium green, perfect for so many projects. I recently used this in a holiday album (along w/ other colors, like Red, Silver, Gold & Diamond… this was before I broke out my new fave, Icicle) & it worked perfectly for Christmas pages! But you do not have to stop there – there is St. Patrick’s Day and countless other events that would benefit from this gleaming green. A great way to bling up your stuff so easily – yay!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Frosted Lace

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Subtly shimmering opaqueish white (27 March 2010)

    I have heard that this is the Stickles closest to opaque white and I agree. This is not as show-stoppingly glittery as other Stickles that look white online. But if you want more of a true white color – for ice, snow, sugar or something – this would probably work great! I just tend to use other white-looking Stickles more because I like the dramatic sparkly pizzazz they have more. This offers a softer glimmer but it will probably come in handy some day so good to have in the stash for now.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Baby Blue

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Soft glimmer, not a brilliantly sparkling blue (27 March 2010)

    I love Stickles, they add instant blingy accents quicky & easily. But some Stickles are not as sparkly as others. This blue is a lovely hue – baby blue, not as bright as it looks online. And the glitter-quality for this is softer than with other colors. I got this with the Stickles starter set so it has been informative to check out the differences between shades. I made a slew of silver & white holiday cards in December & accented them w/ various Stickles; I did not give out the ones accented w/ only this color on them because cards accented w/ other Stickles were far brighter & looked snazzier. I am sure one day I will have a use for this color but I do not really turn to this one that much right now.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Icicle

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Okay perhaps THIS is my fave color! (27 March 2010)

    By writing this, I am hoping to help describe the differences between Stickles that look just white online. This color RAWKS! Earlier, I wrote a review stating that Crystal (w/ its subtle blue/green/pink cool-toned flecks) was possibly my fave Stickles shade. Well THIS is now quite possibly ties Crystal as my favorite! This has AWESOME color flecks in it, gold is the color that I most notice but there’s also various other colors. The glitter particles are larger with this than w/ other Stickles so the bottle opening is bigger & the product comes out thicker. Icicle gives a brilliant effect on anything you put it on… if you cover a color with it, you get gold & multi-colored sparkles w/ the original color showing through too. I have already used up a bottle of this and have a 2nd bottle in my wish list – I adore Icicle!



  • Review: Stickles Starter Pack

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Nice starter set (25 March 2010)

    I got into Stickles late in the game so of course I was overwhelmed by the color selections… there are so many shades out there! But thankfully there are sets like these to help the befuddled start on their Stickles-journey (and potentially, Stickles-addiction LOL). This product provides several colors (including BRILLIANT red and green, voila, instant Christmas accents) and helps to gloriously get you on your glittery way! It is interesting because with this set you can see how some colors are super-shiny, while others are a little more subtle. Each shade is beautiful in its own right but it is cool to start to discover which ones you like, versus which ones WOW you outta your socks! To each their own! Stickles glides on so smoothly, but just in case the product builds up in the bottle, I keep a safety pin in my bag for unsticking that. Takes time to dry (like regular liquid glue, be patient, I wait overnight to be safe), but the effects are well worth the wait!



  • Review: Stickles - All that Glitters Trio Pack

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Wowee, great product to start you on your Stickles-love! (25 March 2010)

    I admit I got into Stickles later than most, I just do not race out to buy products just because they are “in”. But the raves became too hard to ignore and once I tried ’em, I saw what all the fuss was about – Stickles gives a project instant glitziness! Yes you have to allow for dry-time (I prefer overnight to be safe) but spectacular things come to those who wait! This product is SUPER for getting started – each of these colors packs tons of glittery vavavoom! The Silver and Gold are true metallics while the Diamond is near-clear with golden reflective flecks. And this trio of shades is super-versatile, all these colors can be used for a variety of projects. Think of this Stickles 3-pack as a one-step jewelry set for your pages, offering tons of possibilities!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Cotton Candy

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Subtler shine to this color than to others (25 March 2010)

    I love Stickles – they add shine and visual interest to a project so quickly and effortlessly! Just look at my previous reviews to see all my raves! So to be honest, I have to say this is not my favorite shade. As some stated, this is a pretty baby pink, not the bright color seen online, which is fine for me. But this just does not have the sparkle quality that other shades have, it is a more subtle shimmer with this one. It is a pleasant-looking product – pink is arguably my favorite color in life! - and I am sure I will use it one day in the future and rave up and down about it! But right now, I do not reach for this that much.



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Diamond

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Shiny with some gold to it (25 March 2010)

    There are several Stickles out there that look white online, so I hope to help others discern the differences. This is a sparkly almost-clear, some people think it is clear but to me, this has definite, warm gold flecks shining forth. Which is fantastic and beautiful! But just want you to know how this color comes across for me, I tend to turn to other “white” Stickles when sticking to a cooler palette (like Crystal, which has predominantly blue/green reflections, or Icicle, which also has a lot of gold in it but many other colors too… Stardust is the next “white” one on my wishlist!). But do NOT get me wrong, there are times when this sparkly subtley goldish almost-clear is just what my project needs so woohoo Ranger for offering so many lovely variations on what looks merely “white” online!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Gold

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Golden glittery marvelousness! (25 March 2010)

    I want to ditto what a previous reviewer said, this pic online does not do this Stickles shade justice – this is a TRUE gold, like newly-polished-jewelry-gold. And super glittery…which seems like a given, but you would be surprised, some Stickles are not as sparkly as others. This is definitely one of the sparkly ones… it adds such light-reflecting pizazz to your project. I particularly like the effect of having gold Stickle accents on a page w/ other colors (recently used it, silver, red & green in a Christmas book & the multi-colored-ness of it all was soo holiday-pretty). There are limitless possibilities using your imagination and Stickles!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Silver

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Making my other silver supplies jealous! (25 March 2010)

    Seriously, if my silver embellies, silver embossing powder & silver ink could talk, they would be saying “hey, what about us, how about using us!” because I am LOVING silver Stickles so much lately. What can I say about Stickles that has not already been said? They add a touch of glitz so easily. This is a true silver, sparkly & eye-catching, it enlivens my projects so much w/ instant vavoom. Product is dispensed smoothly & yes you have to wait for it to dry (overnight for me, just to be sure) but the results are worth the wait. I still aim to continue to use the rest of my silver stuff, but these silver Stickles are definitely stealing the spotlight for now!



  • Review: Ranger Ink - Stickles Glitter Glue - Crystal

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    This may be my favorite color! (29 November 2009)

    I was kinda “late” trying out Stickles. By the time I explored them, I already knew a few full blown addicts, LOL. Now I see what all the fuss is about, as these rock! They add just the right touch of sparkle when you need some extra oomph but don’t want to opt for additional embellishments. You might’ve noticed that there are several white Stickles available in the Superstore; search around & you’ll find explanations of the differences among them in people’s galleries/threads. This particular color, Crystal, offers a cool glittery look that’s diamond-like in that there are bits of multiple color reflected in it – blue, green, pink. It picks up what colors are around it too but it definitely has hints of its own color particles, which I absolute LOVE! I’ve already purchased a 2nd bottle so that I’m not without this when I run out. Yes this takes a while for Stickles to dry, but your patience will be well worth it. I am swooning for this stuff!



  • Review: We R Memory Keepers - Crop-A-Dile II Big Bite

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Awesome tool (13 March 2009)

    Believe it or not, I never got into using eyelets on my pages until I recently got this tool... now I LUV using up my eyelet stash! This makes it quick & easy to set eyelets (though if you're an eyelet/Cropadile newbie like me, watching the video will be a huge help, as I had a few trial & errors instances w/ this). I ADORE how w/ this tool, I can now have brads (or eyelets, holes, whatever) in the middle of pages & no longer have to be restricted by the reach of a regular mini hole punch. Plus this is easy to use, it doesn't take a lot of muscle to set eyelets or punch holes. I let this sit in its packaging for a few weeks after I received this because I wanted to be good & ready to digest all the instructions... when I learned how simple it was to use, I couldn't believe I had waited so long to put this to action! Love the different settings/functions, the ruler, all of that. Sure it's a little pricey for some budgets but it's worthwhile because it's a VERY useful tool for most scrappers... it is certainly not gathering dust in my space!



  • Review: Metallic Rub-On (Kit #2), CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Cool, but best for porous surfaces or w/ fixative (13 March 2009)

    I wishlisted this & a friend thoughtfully got this for me. It's a very cool product to check out - gives you a variety of different metallic colors for a low price. Interesting to use your finger to apply! I LOVE the various shades & the metallic shine this gives. This can be used in most of the same ways that chalks & inks are used (check out the chalking video, I gotta try this w/ a Qtip now!). I do have to say that this is better used on porous surfaces or w/ a sealer... the directions say "Spray with matte fixative to seal, if desired." The packaging also says "Use on heavy Card Stock, Glossy Paper, Fimo Clay, Ceramic, Wood or other hard craft surfaces." I can see this working on all those surfaces but you would REALLY need that suggested matte fixative on non-porous surfaces, because this tends to smear off photos & glossy papers I've used it on. BUT the effect is lovely, so I've added matte fixative to my wishlist! Fun change from inks & less expensive too! (Though ultimately I find inks easier to use...). :)



  • Review: Xyron Create-A-Sticker - Model 150 "X" Dispenser

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    A Must-Have! (06 March 2008)

    I can't imagine scrapbooking without my Xyron 150. I finally started using cut titles last year after purchasing a Quickutz Squeeze tool…the Xyron 150 makes adhering those tiny letters and numbers a breeze…just drop the letters into the chute, pull the adhesive out the other end and voila, a sticker! No more sticky fingers messing with glues and small pieces of paper, no cleanup of glue leaking out from under die cuts. And not only is this good for titles but for any smaller pieces of paper or narrow strips. I did a page recently that used several small journaling blocks/strips along with paper borders…I just used this to make stickers out of all of them and presto, gluing down those pieces was a snap. I love my little X!



  • Review: Scotch Vellum Adhesive

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Trusty, reliable & invisible vellum adhesive (16 August 2007)

    This is great for adhering vellum and it is 99% of the time transparent (maybe once or twice did this show through vellum for me). You'll need a pair of scissors that can get sticky stuff on it (your "secondary scissors" if you will, not your super-prized possession ones). Cut this in pieces & affix to the surface you'll be sticking your vellum onto; do not put on the vellum itself. Peel the backing off the pieces, place your vellum & voila, invisible hold. When I ran out of this recently, I purchased 3L's Vellum Tape just to check out & it was horrible, completely showed through vellum. So I came running back to this tape! This is a go-to product for me.



  • Review: Marvy Embossing Heat Tool - Model 2500

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Marvelous Marvy Tool! (14 August 2007)

    Oh Marvy heat tool, how I love thee. After struggling unsuccessfully to emboss for the first time with Carolee's Creations Hot Boss (which is apparently good for special effects but horribly ineffective for regular embossing), I bought this, used it and breathed a sigh of relief. Embossing is quick and effective with this tool, producing lovely results in record time. You can also use this to dry certain inks on certain materials, for shrinking shrink plastic & to impress patterns onto moldable stylus tips (heat the tip, press a stamp on it). Has a little stand so you can prop this up. Reasonably priced. This is such a great and reliable tool!



  • Review: 3L Scrapbook Adhesives - E-Z Runner Vellum Tape 49'

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Want visible adhesive lines?? Try this! (14 August 2007)

    I love 3L's Scrapbook Adhesives runner so much that I just had to try their vellum tape. The first time I used this and this showed through my vellum, I thought that I just happened to be using a super-transparent vellum. But then it kept showing through with all sorts of vellums. Then I started hearing other people talk about how this adhesive showed under vellum with them. So it's official - this stuff is NOT transparent under vellum, it totally shows through. Plus this does not provide the smoothest rolling application either, it's a bit of a struggle to lay this stuff down. I'm using mine up as regular adhesive now, NOT under vellum. Don't buy this!



  • Review: Creative Imaginations - Love Stuck by Marah Johnson - Tattoo Collection - Metal Embellishment

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Large & eye-catching accents (10 August 2007)

    These large & heavy metal embellishments are perfect for making a statement on your LO, they really tie things together nicely. Though tattoo-like, these designs lend themselves easily to all sorts of subjects so feel free to let your imagination run wild - I've seen these on love LOs & myself used one of these on a page about mastering snowboarding! Do take care on planning where you want to place these first - there's adhesive backing and once you stick these down, they are STUCK… I don't think Un-Du could help you if you change your mind about the placement! What fabulous, eye-catching accents from a great line of products.



  • Review: Fiskars - ShapeCutter

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Great inexpensive cutter but takes some practice (16 July 2007)

    This is an awesome cutting tool but it's not for everyone, as I've heard mixed reviews from some. I happen to love mine, it is excellent for those of us who want to cut a variety of shapes and borders but don't want to spend the money on more expensive cutting systems. You'll need to practice using this at first - make sure the templates and cutting board are right side up and that you hold the cutter correctly. Be sure you press this AGAINST the template as you cut (not DOWN towards the paper, that will lead to snagging). Cut slowly. Once you get the hang of this, it cuts like buttah and the results are fabulous! You'll have to adjust this for different paper thicknesses, this cuts through photos and almost all my papers just fine! I must admit I have a hard time cutting my thickest Club Scrap cardstock with this, but in those rare instances I just use the templates to trace designs that I free-cut. I really enjoy creating all these shapes and borders with this inexpensive cutter!



  • Review: Carolee's Creations Hot Boss Embosser Tools Set

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Ugh, very INEFFECTIVE (13 July 2007)

    When I decided to take the embossing plunge, I checked out sb.com's store & went with this tool - it was slightly less expensive than other tools & had a bunch of cool tips for different effects! But this worked horribly. First off, it's not like a standard heat tool that blows hot air towards the surface you want to emboss. This is more like a curling iron that emanates heat. I held this above my stamped images covered with embossing powder forEVER and NOTHING HAPPENED. If you do the cool effects that they tell you to do with the tips, you WILL see embossing. But that's only in the event you want to touch the tool to the powdered image to create those effects. If you are wanting an intricate or sharp stamped image to be embossed, you will never get that with this tool unless you touch the image with this (which would smear said intricate or sharp stamped image). I started a thread on the message boards here when I was trying to emboss with this thing.... people assured me that standing above my work with a heat tool for 15 minutes while nothing happened was NOT the embossing norm! I returned this, ordered the Marvy Heat Tool & saw real and effective embossing in several seconds. I'd still be waiting for those embossed results if I kept this - so don't waste your time and money on this product!



  • Review: Zig Memory System Millenium - 5-tip All Black Set

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    These pens are soo versatile (13 July 2007)

    What a versatile set of pens this is - the varying tip widths insure that you can create and convey whatever look you want with your writing, drawing, doodling, etc. The ink is smooth, dark and doesn't run or smudge on almost all papers (if writing on glossy paper, I use pens specifically designed for that, such as Slick Writers). This is fabulous for beginners who want to equip themselves with a set of pens guaranteed to provide multiple uses, but even scrappers who are beyond the novice level will find themselves coming back to these pens - I know I do! Write on!



  • Review: Cutter Bee Scissors

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    These small scissors pack a big punch! (13 July 2007)

    Fabulous little scissors - these are SHARP & perfectly sized to cut the most detailed stuff. Cute & portable too. Easy & comfortable fit in my hands. As previous reviewers have stated, be careful - I too have cut myself when overzealously using this product. But I guess it's understandable - these little scissors pack such a big punch & making cutting things out so easy & fun that it's hard NOT to get carried away with cutting stuff!



  • Review: Herma Dotto Dots Dispenser - Temporary

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    ESSENTIAL adhesive for photos, paper & artistic indecision! (13 July 2007)

    I love having different adhesives for different things but if I had to give all of them up but my most favorites, this would be one of the last two standing (the other being Tombow's Mono Multi liquid glue). I LOVE Herma Repositionable. It is so fabulous to stick stuff down & be able to move it around should the creative spirit inspire you to do so. Now I must say that if you do move stuff around a lot, you need to reapply this eventually; the stickiness of the 1st application will only go so far. And ok, I must admit that though this is an effective adhesive, it's not super-foolproof; you'll need something stronger for heavier elements. If I had to rate this on the sticky-factor alone, I'd give it only 4 stars. However, it gets 5 stars because nothing beats the freedom of being able to reposition stuff while you work. It's wonderful to have an adhesive that adapts to your scrapping whims, & Herma Temporary does that!



  • Review: Tombow - Mono Multi Liquid Glue

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Awesome and reliable liquid glue! (11 July 2007)

    If I had to foresake all other adhesives (the horror!) and just pick the ones I really love, THIS would be one of my last two adhesives standing (the other being Dotto Repositionable). I love this liquid glue - it never warps paper, dries pretty fast and clear, holds strong. Love the narrow tip on top and broader tip on the bottom, perfect for laying this stuff on a variety of items. This is so versatile too - works well with photos, paper, ribbons, etc. I normally use glue dots and glue lines to hold heavier embellishments but if I'm out of those, I know from experience that a thick layer of this will definitely stick those heavier things down. It apparently can work as repositionable adhesive if you let it dry, but I haven't checked that use out yet. I've also heard that it can be used as a repositionable adhesive to stick unmounted rubber stamps to blocks (great because I've been needing to do that!). I am awaiting an order of a few of these from sb.com right now as I type...THAT'S how much I rely on this, I can't be without it! If you're like me and love the versatility & all-around uses of a liquid glue, I recommend you try this out for yourself.