Tsabhira's Reviews

  • Verified Buyer

    Useful for masculine, autumn cards (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. I will say the greenish-brown iridescent translucent color is really pretty and unusual. The lighter-toned coppers are nice too.

    Cons: Packaging on these stinks. The four darkest shades are just too dark and too flat and too samey. I imagine they'd be good on fall or masculine cards (go nicely with kraft).



  • Verified Buyer

    Strong value, pretty colors (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. This blue set is probably my second favorite, after the greens, because of the wide variation in color. I found myself tempted to put the lightest color (mint blue) in with the greens and the darkest (dark indigo) in with the purples, but that just shows the wide spread. Pretty.

    Cons: Packaging on these is a pain in the rear.



  • Verified Buyer

    Insane value (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. The green set is probably the nicest one of the set with the most variation, everything from lime to mint to emerald to olive and even two ugly kelly greens for Christmas. :D

    Cons: Packaging on these is a pita.



  • Verified Buyer

    If you skip one, skip this one (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. The lighter purples are really quite nice, but...

    Cons: The dark purples here are duds. There's just not enough variation and not enough of the translucent colors. Packaging on these is a real pain as well.



  • Verified Buyer

    Extremely good value (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. The silver is a bit boring, but the white, clear, and iridescent white make up for it.

    Cons: Packaging on these is a real pain. Also, there are four blacks in this set, barely distinguishable from each other -- that's a waste. I'd have liked to see different silvers and greys instead.



  • Verified Buyer

    Great value (01 January 2015)

    Pros: Sequins are hot right now, and these little packs are an incredible value considering that boutique online retailers are charging $3 for 1/8th of this packet. The pinks in this set are especially nice -- good variety, and the iridescent ones are trendy.

    Cons: The purples are too dark and too samey. Dud. Also, the ones that look more red/orange in the image are really not. Hot pink is as reddish as it gets. Packaging on these is a real pain as well.



  • Verified Buyer

    Beautiful sketchy rub-ons (01 January 2015)

    Crate Paper's rub-ons the last few lines have been a really great value. Two pages of these, and they're darling. Lots can be used for non-Valentine's Day stuff.



  • Verified Buyer

    Cute in person but pricey (15 January 2014)

    This paper shows really poorly on sites, but in person it's adorable. The ruffles aren't paper or a faux look, and they are easily puffed out with fingers to create dimension on a page. Also a bonus, it comes wrapped in its own protector.



  • Verified Buyer

    Colors are off (15 January 2014)

    1) These dots are awfully expensive for the price.
    2) The colors shown on product sites are inaccurate. They are much more coral in tone, and the far right pale peach color is not at all that pale in person. I can live with that because I like oranges, but it's worth a heads-up.
    3) Other than that, they're exactly what I expect from enamel dots.



  • Verified Buyer

    Extremely thin but workable (15 January 2014)

    I would not call this chipboard. It's roughly between real cardstock and real chipboard, and it's a sort of a grey color, not the kraft color I expected. However, it held up decently in cutting and after being painted with acrylic, and there is a setting for cutting exactly this stuff in studio (no surprise, really, but it's an extra layer of mat/blade safety when you don't have to guess). Honestly, even though it's thin, I'll use it again.



  • Verified Buyer

    Surprisingly useful (15 January 2014)

    Does exactly what I needed it to do, and way better than the credit card edge I was advised to use because it's got a far thinner edge. Glad I picked this up.



  • Verified Buyer

    Five stars for the B-side (11 September 2013)

    I picked this up for the constellation B-side. The A-side is nothing special, but I'm a constellation junkie, and this stylized nightsky is super cute.



  • Verified Buyer

    Great PL Halloween cards (11 September 2013)

    I don't even PL, but I picked these up for some vintagey-layering cards anyway, especially the skeletons. Totally worth it; the sheet is beautiful in person on both sides. Really nice stuff that keeps Halloween LOs slightly more mature. These would go nicely with some Tim Holz stamps.



  • Verified Buyer

    Vintage humor (11 September 2013)

    Love this vintage newspaper look for Halloween, and the "ads" are tinged with a lovely tongue-in-cheek humor without being in-your-face Halloweeny.



  • Verified Buyer

    Mildly disappointed (11 September 2013)

    I knew this stamp would be small, but it's so small in person that you can barely see that there is writing on the dots, and it ends up looking more like a honeycomb than like text dots.



  • Verified Buyer

    Not as good as the other batch (11 September 2013)

    I bought these because Scrapbook.com was sold out of the other type of Cropper Hopper paper files that I normally get and I figured that these were the same even though they were a buck more. I was wrong. These are significantly shorter; a big bundle of paper is basically tall enough to block the tiny little label. The other type is cheaper and much taller, so you can actually see the labels above the paper.

    They are still better than what's otherwise available and I'd still buy them again rather than have nothing because they are at least the right width/style for my paper storage, but as I type this, both types are sold out, and I anxiously await restock of one or the other.



  • Verified Buyer

    Lovely dreamy grey (11 September 2013)

    Lovely dreamy grey with a sweet font. Great sheet from an older collection that still isn't out of style.



  • Verified Buyer

    Very disappointed in these (11 September 2013)

    While this concept is cute, in hindsight I realize these stickies are sort of useless if you don't want the same stickies on every layout. They'd be nice for a SMASHbook-type of journal, but they don't really work for the Capture series they're intended for. Worse, mine arrived with the stickies (not the plastic card they're on) being fairly turned in and dogeared (not the fault of shipping; they're just attached that way). I regret this purchase.



  • Verified Buyer

    Great fall colors (11 September 2013)

    This Basic Grey line is clearly intended as a fall line, and it's got its fair share of leaves and tan, but the majority of the colors (especially that great coral) are bigger and brighter than the usual browny-oranges of autumn, so it will work for non-themed layouts too. Just don't think of coral batiks as being fall-ish, but it works! I also don't feel the 6x6 pad is a crappier, less colorful version of the 12x12s without the good sheets, which does sometimes happen with BG pads (ahem, Carte Postale).



  • Verified Buyer

    Vintage poster vibe (02 May 2013)

    I went gaga for this set because of the vintage travel poster vibe in some of the cards. Absolutely worth the buy, probably for two since it's double-sided.



  • Verified Buyer

    Gorgeous strips, get two (02 May 2013)

    This is one of the better sheets in the Urban Traveler set particularly because each strip is aligned to have two usable sides. You'll probably want two because of some of the best bits are on the same strip. Props for the Tolkien quote, too.



  • Verified Buyer

    Nice starter set, but the colors aren't true (02 May 2013)

    This set is not at all true to the colors in the picture, hence the three stars. I can work with them, but the real colors are much more washed out. It's not bold orange or golden-yellow and green; it's peach and butter and greyish mint. They are unquestionably pastels. Also for reference, since you can't tell from the pic, the larger brads are 5/8" in diameter. Except for the colors, the set is a pretty good deal, and they come on a card, not in a jumbled bag.



  • Verified Buyer

    Arrows everywhere (02 May 2013)

    I'm not entirely sure which side is meant to be the front, but I assume it's the arrows, and they're true to color and perfectly trendy. In retrospect, I should have simply made my own with some arrows stamps and graph paper, but they, this is already done.



  • Verified Buyer

    Retro vibe (02 May 2013)

    I've fallen in love with this sheet in spite of my aversion to pink. I picked it up because retro pop is actually surprisingly hard to find, especially in awkward sizes of journaling cards (which I like). The paperclip and glasses are standouts for me. Cosmo Cricket has another similar page in the Sweet Disposition set if you're looking for something a little less cutesy.



  • Verified Buyer

    Great colors (02 May 2013)

    I'm extremely happy with this tape. It's a tad more expensive than others, but it was worth the extra because of the size, pattern, and colors. It's rainbow, yeah, but it actually winds up going with a lot of themes.



  • Verified Buyer

    Summer Fresh set is adorable (02 May 2013)

    I love the Summer Fresh collection so much and am sorry to see it slowly going out of stock across the various scrapbooking sites because it has such a wonderful denim-and-flowers not-quite-vintage look to it that reminds me of my actual childhood rather than my parents' (which is how most vintage looks). There are a few duds in the set (the word-only ones are too simple IMO), but the sunburst, denim, and chevron row cards totally make up for those.



  • Verified Buyer

    Difficult paper to use (02 May 2013)

    I picked this up planning to cut it into tiny pieces as cheap stickers/embels without looking closely and realizing that the fake washi tape look makes that pretty hard because you're stuck either cutting out the overhanging tape graphic or using your cutout on kraft and only kraft. I guess if you have thick washi you could layer that over it too, but mine is all thin. Everything else about the paper is great and true to color like everything else in this set; I just found it hard to figure out what to do with this sheet specifically once my plans didn't work out.



  • Verified Buyer

    Big and flashy (02 May 2013)

    These stamps wound up being bigger than I expected (it's usually the other way around). For example, the arrows are a bit under 2" tall, while the label on the bottom is 3". Those shapes in particular, along with the use-them-anywhere heart and star, make the set worth it. I admit I haven't really found as much use as I'd thought for some of the word stamps -- maybe they'd be perfect on hand-made journaling cards more than on the LOs I like. All in all, this is a big set with lots of pieces for the price.



  • Verified Buyer

    Super small but adorbz (02 May 2013)

    This is a great little stamp set with some very usable items, though I sorta wish the balloon didn't have any text in it. The only thing that's a pass for me is the flower. I originally grabbed it for the chevrons but have glommed onto the heart lately. But the other poster is right -- these guys are super small. The chevron, for example, is exactly two inches tall. They're cute, though!



  • Verified Buyer

    Great for odd-size journaling (02 May 2013)

    I don't use typical 3x4 journaling cards in most of my layouts, but I still wanted cards, especially cards with weird sizes. This one delivers, though the color palette grates a tad and there are several forgetable designs. The cutest card on the sheet? The salt shaker. :D



  • Verified Buyer

    Cutest one in the series (02 May 2013)

    I picked this up along with two more sticker memo labels from My Mind's Eye's (Unforgettable and Sweetest Thing). This one (Notable) is definitely the cutest because of the bold colors and more useful (for me) phrases.



  • Verified Buyer

    Wonderfully washed out (02 May 2013)

    Grabbed this because I wanted some odd-sized journaling slips with odd colors, and this does just that. The smaller bits are probably unusable for journaling, though, because of the way the design is cut (intentionally). It'd probably be possible to replicate this paper by hand, but if you're lazy like I am, it's perfect as-is.



  • Verified Buyer

    Nice color contrast (02 May 2013)

    I grabbed this on sale and consider it well worth the sale price. Clippings has a nice vintage feel to it without going too hipster, and there's a nice contrast between the colors and patterns. Unlike a lot of 6x6 books, this one doesn't have many dud pages. But it's Basic Grey, so be warned, it's not double-sided.



  • Verified Buyer

    Missed opportunity (02 May 2013)

    I love the colors in this collection so much, but I admit I bought this paper primarily for the blue starmap card without realizing/noticing there's a 12" pink starmap on the back. I think the pink starmap is a missed opportunity; a full-sized blue would have been a lot cuter and more usable. Overall, though, I think it's a decent buy for journaling cards.



  • Verified Buyer

    Perfect for lazy people (02 May 2013)

    This is really, really simple journaling paper. Really simple. Someone with a notepad and a distress pad could probably do the same thing more cheaply. But it's cute, and I'm lazy, so it was worth the buy.



  • Verified Buyer

    Love the whale especially (02 May 2013)

    Really cute journaling paper, both sides, even. The chalkboard bits are particularly nice. There's no card here that doesn't have at least one really good side, and most have two. The whale is my favorite. :)



  • Verified Buyer

    It is what it says on the tin (02 May 2013)

    This punch is worth every penny but not a penny more. It's a cheap little punch that handles slight rounding on journaling cards, but it's a bit flaky and naturally won't work well on anything that isn't a perfect right angle. I suspect higher-end corner punches won't work significantly better, however. As other buyers suggested, upside down is the only way to see what you're doing.



  • Verified Buyer

    Love this theme (16 April 2013)

    I love this set, this image in particular. It really does have a faded vintage surfer look, and that means the colors are a bit washed out. The flower board in particular is a very pale teal color with a distinct green tinge, but that's part of what makes this look so retro.



  • Verified Buyer

    Perfect for cut-outs (16 April 2013)

    I'm a big fan of the All About a Boy set, and this particular page is perfect for cutting out little spinny wheels and using elsewhere. The colors are just wonderfully retro.



  • Verified Buyer

    Gorgeous colors (16 April 2013)

    I flipped when I saw this particular paper show up here; I just love love orange and tealy-blue. In person, it's a little more washed out than the picture shows, but not problematically so, and the hues are true to the image. The whole All About a Boy set is cute, but this paper just pops, and it does the superhero look without trotting out the tired old red and blue Silver Age colors.



  • Verified Buyer

    Wasted space (16 April 2013)

    I love these retro robots for my son's room, but I wish I'd thought it through a little more. It really is cropped as shown in the picture, with printing 'scraps' at the bottom and top as thought the whole pattern is just one excerpt from a roll. Because of that, it doesn't really work as a 12x12 art piece, and if I cut it up I lose a big chunk of paper that doesn't have any usable strips on it. I wish the artist had made better use of the excess space.



  • Verified Buyer

    Beautiful paper (16 April 2013)

    Beautiful paper with trendy chevrons and that great vintage color palette. If anything, it's bolder in person, but it still has a vintage look. I'm buying more.



  • Verified Buyer

    Cute but the color is off (16 April 2013)

    I purchased this planning to use for a sunny theme as it looks like a dark orangey yellow on-screen, but in person, it's basically lemon yellow. Cute, but not usable in this particular project. Have to save it for later!



  • Verified Buyer

    The back is as cute as the front (16 April 2013)

    I bought several papers in the This and That Charming collection, and this is another paper whose backside, however simple, is as cute as the frontside. Just perfect colors that look really great on my project.



  • Verified Buyer

    So vibrant (16 April 2013)

    This has definitely become one of my favorite papers. I actually can't bring myself to use it/cut it/paste anything onto it because it's so pretty all by itself. And the bright colors are totally true to the image.



  • Verified Buyer

    Forget the front, that wood is to die for (16 April 2013)

    I bought this sheet because fans were a perfect theme for my nostalgia garland, but what actually got my attention when the paper arrived was the woodsy back. It's just the perfect rich shade of golden wood that doesn't look cheap or cartoony like some other wood-themed papers.



  • Verified Buyer

    Great for garlands (16 April 2013)

    Picked this up thinking it'd be just the right size to make some cute garlands for around the house. It was. It did start to bother my forearm/wrist after a hundred or so punches, but that's probably not a normal use-case. I'll definitely pick up more in different sizes eventually.



  • Verified Buyer

    Interesting texture (16 April 2013)

    Never having bought anything from Carta Bella before, I was unprepared for the odd, scratchy texture of this paper. The pattern is cute; the texture just doesn't match the rest of my stash.



  • Verified Buyer

    Yay for hexagons (16 April 2013)

    I purchased this paper on a whim to use as a whole-sheet project and the high detail made that possible -- no need to cut it up or embellish it. One thing to note -- the colors are richer on the monitor. In person, it's simultaneously darker and more faded; the orange and aqua are more like an orangey-brown and medium teal. But it's still gorgeous and it's got the ever-trendy hexagon look.



  • Verified Buyer

    For orange freaks (16 April 2013)

    I'm on a huge orange binge lately, and this paper is half the reason for it. I've used it in multiple projects in my son's orange and blue room, and it looks adorable and extremely detailed in person - it has that 'hand-placed' look. The back is nothing to write home about, but the orange part is yay.



  • Verified Buyer

    Not true to color (16 April 2013)

    I have purchased a bunch of paper from this set (which I love), this star sheet in particular. It is not at all true to color; the monitor makes it look much more teal with a greenish undertone. In reality, it's straight up Americana blue. But I really liked it anyway, enough to come back for seconds.



  • Verified Buyer

    Color is much more faded than it appears (16 April 2013)

    This paper is very beautiful, but the color is much more grey-blue and washed out than the teal it looked like on the monitor. I would up not using it for my project and will hang onto it for something else.



  • Verified Buyer

    Extremely cute in person (16 April 2013)

    Purchased this for a wall collage, and unlike a lot of papers meant to be cut into strips, this one actually looks good without being chopped up. Definitely worth the buy.



  • Verified Buyer

    Watch out on the color (16 April 2013)

    The pattern on this paper is cute and trendy, but it's definitely not as blue as it looks in the picture; it's actually grey with a very slight purple undertone. It fit very well into my teal/yellow/grey wall collage, happily, but the real color might make it a little less nautical than it looks on my monitor.