Login

Need an account?
Already have an account?
Login Name:
Password:
Stay logged in
forgot password

Shopping

Plucky Momo's Reviews

  • Review: Purple Cows Incorporated - Two In One Combo Trimmer - Paper Trimmer

    Verified Buyer
    I don't recommend this product

    Not a fan (05 January 2009)

    I really wanted to like this trimmer....I just don't. My first problem is the size. Although it is very lightweight it is so completely bulky.

    I thought I would like the removable trimmer side, but removing it and reattaching it is just a pain.

    The cuts seem about as accurate as any other trimmer. And I really DO like that the blade is safe and not sharp at all. But I found the clunkiness of this trimmer much too difficult to work with.

    I donated mine to goodwill and went back to my Fiskars.



  • Review: Making Memories - Tool Kit

    I don't recommend this product

    Noisy and Two-Handed (05 January 2009)

    A few years back when eyelets starting appearing everywhere in scrapbooking I saved my money, clipped a coupon and purchased a Making Memories Tool Kit.

    Immediately there were problems. First, this tool needed a hard surface, often my craft table would not do and I had to kneel on our cement floor to make it work.

    It took two hands and the noise was a huge drawback. And although the tiny hammer was so very cute, I looked for something more. I then received the Provo Craft Silent Setter as a gift and I am very happy with it. It solved all of these problems I had with the previous setter and was much more practical and economical.

    I donated my MM Tool Kit to Goodwill.



  • Review: Provo Craft Zision Silent Setter

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    BEST ever! (05 January 2009)

    A few years back when eyelets starting appearing everywhere in scrapbooking I saved my money, clipped a coupon and purchased a Making Memories Tool Kit. Immediately there were problems. First, this tool needed a hard surface, often my craft table would not do and I had to kneel on our cement floor to make it work. It took two hands and the noise was a huge drawback. And although the tiny hammer was so very cute, I looked for something more. I then received the Provo Craft Silent Setter as a gift and I am very happy with it. It solved all of these problems I had with the previous setter and was much more practical and economical.

    Why the Silent Setter is different. The first thing I liked about the Silent Setter was it's size. In it's case it measures only 7" tall, 3.5" wide and 2" deep. It is considerably lighter than the Making Memories eyelet system and has a zipper which closes it completely which makes it easy to throw into your cropping bag and go.

    Second, it contains all you need within it's small case. The setter, tools, healing mat and it even comes with a small plastic container filled with eyelets. I emptied the eyelets and replaced them with my most frequently used small silver brads. Other crafters may feel they need the other tools which come in the Making Memories set, but I never used them.

    Third, it only requires one hand. That means you can use the other hand to steady your paper so no slippage occurs (more about this when I show my featured project.) This tool is completely noise free, which means a lot to this Mommy of two.

    And lastly, the price is much more affordable than other eyelet setters on the market.



  • Review: Cricut - Cartridge Storage - Orange

    I don't recommend this product

    Useless, clunky, a waste of money (05 January 2009)

    You KNOW they have some brilliant minds working at ProvoCraft....just look at the Cricut itself! But the genius ends where this storage case was invented. The main problem? It doesn't really hold stuff. And that's important for a storage case don't ya think?

    The case itself has two sides, each of which is as deep as a traditional Cricut cartridge case. Each side has a plastic insert which holds 4 cartridges and then there is enough space left to store 4 of the cartridge overlays. So, in theory, if you filled it to capacity it should hold 8 cartridges and 8 overlays.

    Here's where the problems start. This comes with one (yes, just one) very slippery green ribbon which you are supposed to use to tie in a little bow to hold the overlays in place when you close the unit. But, if it is filled to capacity, that only holds down one side. And who has time to tie a little bow every time they close this storage case anyway. Not to mention that when you open it, the side without the bow has overlays flying everywhere.

    I am completely disappointed with this product. It is poorly designed, poorly conceived and poorly executed.



  • Review: Xyron - Xyron 250 Create A Sticker Maker

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    CAN'T live without this tool! (05 January 2009)

    It was probably 4 or 5 years ago when I first stumbled upon a Xyron Create-a-Sticker 250 for sale in my local Wal*Mart. I bought it wondering how I would ever end up using it. Little did I know that I would soon find my life impossible to live without it. And not just for scrapbooking. I have used it for all kinds of crafts, some of which I will talk about in this article.

    I use this is for applying ribbon to a layout or other project where you want the ribbon to lay completely flat. Before I got my Xyron I tried ribbon glue, which always bled through my sheer ribbons and was a sticky mess. I also tried regular adhesive runner tapes, which are too wide for some skinny ribbons and didn't hold very well. Feeding your ribbon through the Xyron Create-a-Sticker makes it perfect every time.

    I also use this to apply diecut alphabets. This machine is perfection for this task. After cutting out letters with my Cricut, I simply feed them through the Sticker Maker and they adhere perfectly. No trying to glue it, and no corners peel up.

    When my daughter was potty training I scoured the store for just the right stickers to fill her reward chart with. She declined every suggestion I made and finally I said, Honey, what kind of sticker would you like? And she answered A sticker of me. I immediately went home, printed pictures of her face, cut them into small 1 inch squares and sent them through the Xyron. She was completely thrilled and was potty trained in a week flat.

    I'm sure by now it's obvious that I am completely smitten with this product. I could not live without it!



  • Review: Paper Crafts - Gourmet Idea Book, CLEARANCE

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    GREAT Idea Book (05 January 2009)

    I went into this book with three clear criteria. (1) Are the crafts doable, varied and well executed? (2) Are the recipes good, because it's ALL about the food, and (3) Was there a good correlation between projects and food items.

    Here are my findings on all three points.

    1. Are the crafts doable, varied and well executed? The simple answer is yes. But let me elaborate. The first positive is that there was a good variation of skill level represented. So doofuses like me can start with emulating a simple, yet creative gift tag or card and Super Geniuses (like my Craft Critique co-workers) can cut a viewing window out of a Pringles can, line it with a transparency, decorate the canister and fill it with chocolate sandwich cookies. The book also includes a template for some of the designs.

    2. Are the recipes good? Well, I have not tried every recipe of course, but I did try the Cheesy Garlic Drop Biscuits and OH BOY were they ever good. While we were still sitting at the dinner table eating I got up to whip up a second batch. There is a really good variation of recipes as well including Appetizers, Beverages, Breads, Desserts, Main Dishes, Snacks, Soups and Miscellaneous. I am a serious foodie and a bunch of the recipes jumped out as ones I would like to try.

    3. Was there a good correlation between projects and food items? Mostly. I was pleasantly surprised to find actual dinner party plans and not just neighbor gift ideas in this book. And in large part the recipes seemed to fit the theme, but there were a few ideas that seemed a bit of a stretch. Like the Half-Birthday Party with a recipe for cheese fondue. Not an obvious link there.



  • Review: WorldWin - DoubleMates - 12 x 12 Cardstock Pack - Complete Collection

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    The ONLY Cardstock I use (10 October 2008)

    I first happened upon WorldWin cardstock last year while I was working for Tinkering Ink. The colors in their papers are quite difficult to match to cardstock. Trust me...I went through thousnads of Bazzill and other cardstocks chips trying to match. And finally I found WorldWin. Through my job I received samples of all the WorldWin products and this product quickly became a favorite.

    The weight is perfect and it has a very slight texture which makes it easy to print on or apply rub-ons too. And because there is a slightly different shade on teh backside you always get a perfect match.

    Monochromatic layouts are so easy since WorldWin does all of the work for you. And their other products are also great, although I use this more than anything because of the style.

    These papers are perfection. You will LOVE this pack!



  • Review: Bo Bunny Press - Tools - Retractable Craft Knife

    Verified Buyer
    I recommend this product

    Love Love LOVE!!! (10 October 2008)

    This craft knife is simply the best craft knife out there.
    Unlike the wonky shaped Fiskars model that came out last year, this offers precision, a comfortable hold and dude, the thing comes with 5...yes FIVE replacement blades.

    And the retactability is wonderful.
    I never have to worry about "little hands" getting their hands on this by accident.

    A+ for Bo Bunny!!!