Username Post: Picture Help        (Topic#1581757)
New Kid On the Block

Hello! I am new to the scrapbook scene. I am making my boyfriend a scrapbook of all the hikes we have enjoyed together in beautiful Colorado. I am hoping someone can help me out with a few questions. I haven't really printed pictures in a couple of years, however, I remember cropping some photos and ordering prints from Walgreens and they came back distorted. Probably because I cropped the photos and they were printed on 5x7 sheets making them look stretched. I have taken lots of photos on the hikes but many of them will have to be cropped. Is there a way to avoid this problem? Also I have a printer that is capable of printing pictures. Would it be cheaper to print myself and again avoid running into the quality issue if I crop? Adhesive paper would be nice to directly stick to the sheet. Any insight or pointers would be greatly appreciated! Like I said I am a newbie and just trying to make my gift perfect : ) Thanks in advance for the help!

binkiemonstermom
Idol
binkiemonstermom
In response to allyherrera19

I am going to tell you what I do, first off, I don't find printing at home to be cheaper, but it is just me.
I use shutterfly for all my printing...and here's why, first off and the biggest reason, shutterfly prints the date the picture was TAKEN on the back of your prints. Snapfish will print the date the day your pictures are printed!! BIG difference!!!!
The prices are comparable to other sites, and I look for coupons and print when I get them.
Also, shutterfly will tell you when a picture is going to get distorted when you blow it up. That helps a lot to prevent pictures from being useless!!!
If there is a picture, and it tell you it can't be big at all, not even 4x6- you can generally print in wallet size, you will get 4 of them but at least you don't lose the picture!! I have done this for some pics that I got off the internet for a project!!
Hths!!

Diva