Username Post: Recycling 3-ring binders        (Topic#1587917)
obillo 
New Kid On the Block

I am just beginning the transition to scrapbooking from stuffing things in drawers, cigar boxes, between books and in 'safe places,' and I wonder about recycling some old 3-ring binders. I have a half dozen of them and they are tremendously sturdy and made for heavy use, with real hinges, industrial-grade rings, padded boards and so on. A pity to throw them away, but they are covered in hideous brown plastic.

I'd like some advice on covering them with fabric or paper. Can I glue or otherwise attach fabric or paper to the plastic? Do I have to peel off the plastic and then glue directly to the boards? Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.

CrimsonMama
Mayor
CrimsonMama
In response to obillo

I've attached "leather" fabric on to a binder. I did not take the vinyl off. I used spray glue to do it.

I don't know what would happen if you take the vinyl off, is it not glued on and would it tear the cardboard underneath? That could make it Not Smooth to recover. If the vinyl is loose and stretched however, I would try to remove it. I would love to see how this turns out.

memex9
memex9 
Queen
memex9
In response to CrimsonMama

I only did this once......did not take the vinyl off for the reasons you stated. I covered it with fabric and it turned out great....I still have it....it's still good. My vinyl was white, however, so I could use a light colored fabric. It was like a chintz type, flowers on a white background....kind of country cottage look! That's my only experience with this...I did use spray adhedsive......!!!!!

RedSquirrel UK
Diva
RedSquirrel UK
In response to memex9

Welcome to Scrapbook.com!

I wouldn't take the vinyl off either, just cover it. As for adhesive, I've never used spray glue but it sounds like the way to go. I would use double-sided tape or my ATG around the edges for strength too.