Username Post: Most useful supplies        (Topic#1592299)
New Kid On the Block

I'm getting back into scrapbooking (both digitally an paper) and plan on buying some basic paper stuff on Black Friday. Since I'm a poor college student, I really need to stretch my dollar ;). What supplies do you seem to reach for over and over? What stuff do you find to be the most versatile? Finally, what things do you think are just basics that everyone needs?

I plan on doing a combination of digital and traditional layouts, if it makes a difference. I'm kind of aiming towards a more project life approach with the traditional scrapbooking, but like some of the more embellished pages.

Thanks!

bonprof
Queen
bonprof
In response to lashbrook.megan

Invest in a good trimmer: it will save you money in the long run.

southgirl
Expert
southgirl
In response to bonprof

Border punches, even the cheap kind will be useful

aubrieannie
Veteran
aubrieannie
In response to southgirl

I second trimmer. I also really use my circle cutter quite a bit. And cutting mat.

kittisiubhan
New Kid On the Block
kittisiubhan
In response to aubrieannie

These are tools I use for EVERYTHING - not just scrapbooking.

Non stick craft mat - Trust me, you need one.

Bone Folder - I have several of these scattered around the house, and highly recommend them to everyone; SPECIFICALLY the Martha Stewart brand. It's a very hard plastic that will last & last unlike the bone folders that come with the scoreboards, they're too soft and will eventually wear down.

Crop-A-Dile - I use it as a heavy duty punch more often than an eyelet setter.

Heat Embossing Tool - I like this one over others because it puts out heat without blowing on your project too hard.

Martha Stewart Travel Trimmer - Just a basic trimmer but it folds up to the size of a ruler & stores the spare blades right on the base.