Username Post: Mailing / Postage        (Topic#1599353)
Sharon Leigh
Veteran
Sharon Leigh

I am brand new to Cardmaking. I made one style and repeated it ten times for some Halloween invitations loved doing them. They were a standard A2 card but with embellishments they had a little added thickness. For this reason I took them to the post office and asked the price of postage. After passing one of the card around to four different employees, they literally just guessed at what the Cost would be. I see myself doing more cards so my question is: How do you determine postage? Do you take every item to the post office, have a postage scale or use
some service like stamps.com. I'd prefer not going to the post office every time if there is an alternative.

Thanks you
Sharon

olleharr
Mayor
olleharr
In response to Sharon Leigh

I found that the problems that arise with my cards isn't the weight but more the bulk. I usually pay an extra 20 cents to have them hand stamped so they don't get stuck in any machines. If it's real bulky I will go in and ask them to hand stamp. Otherwise I just throw an additional 20 cent stamp on it and drop it in the mail. I haven't had any come back to me. I noticed that hand processing it seems to slow down the delivery though so I mail them a couple days earlier. For the most part I've learned to embellish a little flatter design. No big flowers or ribbon with big knots or bows. One layer of demensional tape is as far as I go.

New Kid On the Block
In response to olleharr

One thing that I found at the post office is that there is no rhyme or reason to the postage. Four different clerks will give you four different answers. I don't even think they know themselves. Wish there was more uniformity in that department.

BTW Olleharr, the postage for extra bulk or handstamping is now 21 cents. It went up with the last postage increase.

olleharr
Mayor
olleharr
In response to Fifi Larue