Username Post: Trends in scrapbooking        (Topic#1675439)
Cylara
Cylara 
New Kid On the Block
Cylara

Good evening scrappers, I'm new to the forum and have been scrapping for less than a year. I've already noticed some trends in scrapbooking but I was wondering if anyone has observed trends throughout the years and would like to share them?

Vivian Lake
Diva
Vivian Lake
In response to Cylara

Goodness. . . that's a million dollar question!!!

I've been scrapping since 1998 and the trends have certainly blown the industry wide open.

Trends from "making your own labels" to "making your own pearls" come to mind.

Then there is the more subtle trends, like sewing normal stitches to "messed up stitches". Chevrons, feathers, and lightbulbs weren't always a part of scrapbooking.

Then there is the unmistakable "how to" trend. Shabby Chic, Punk, Cute, Mixed Media, Fussy Cutting, Die Cutting, Traditional . . . etc etc.

Trends can be a fun way to learn a new technique, as well as an added expense to your crafting!!

Sewflake
Governor
Sewflake
In response to Vivian Lake

Still chuckling...added expense is right with trends.

Then there is the trend of recycling anything into your scrapbook.
Who would have thought you would use the packaging as part of the finished design.

I am embracing the make your own embellishment trend.

gluemore girl
Guru
gluemore girl
In response to Sewflake

So many different trends over the years! current trend is definitely mixed media using paints, stains and pastes.

Doreena
Queen
Doreena
In response to gluemore girl

Right now I'm noticing, and doing, different sizes and different types of layouts all mixed in one album.

Used to be like "This is my 8x10 album. This is my 12x12 album. This is my 5x7 album.... Not anymore!

For example - PL Albums that include Traditional PL layouts, Digital PL Layouts, Traditional Paper Layouts, Digital/Traditional Layouts and a mix of different sizes of these.